Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-23-2013, 02:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 500
Default

220V Plug


I'm wrapping up wiring up my detached garage that will be drywalled and I have a 60AMP subpanel installed.

All of my tools are 110V but I know the day will come when I could really use that 220V plug and now is the time to put it in. Problem is, I have no idea what size wire/breaker to put in place for future use. I could maybe see myself using a small welder, maybe a larger compressor, possibly some woodworking tools, but this is not a huge garage so I'm limited in space with how many toys I can cram in along with two cars.

Any suggestions appreciated.

n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 03:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,625
Rewards Points: 1,124
Default

220V Plug


Since you don't know what tool it is, how do you know where the receptacle might be needed ?

Installation at a later date is not that difficult even if you have to cut and patch a little drywall.

If you really insist on it now, do a 30 amp (dryer type) installation. You can always change the receptacle and breaker to a lower amperage at a later date.

Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 03:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 500
Default

220V Plug


I have a general area laid out where the plug will be accessible. I'm thinking 30 or 40 as well...
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:59 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,107
Rewards Points: 2,124
Default

220V Plug


Run an 8/3 Cable from the panel to a 2 gang deep box with a blank cover. Drop the cable into the panel and leave un terminated. This will cover almost any situation. Definately overkill but pretty cheap.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 11:47 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

220V Plug


You could run a conduit to any location you like, set a recessed box and then when you need it, you can pull the right size wire and install the correct beaker in the panel.

Or you could do it like the rest of the world does it. Wait until you need it, then figure it out.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Dryer 220V plug be one sided as 110V plug hikergh9 Electrical 13 03-16-2013 03:11 PM
converting a 220V plug to 110V plug jianhogg Electrical 4 04-27-2012 12:18 AM
220v plug differences ktkelly Electrical 26 04-18-2012 02:20 AM
220v Plug end differences gmbwrenchn Electrical 18 05-03-2011 08:11 PM
Can you change a 220v plug on a dryer clueless_03 Electrical 6 08-30-2009 01:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.