Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-21-2008, 09:59 PM   #16
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,782
Share |
Default

220V Garage recepticals


You CANNOT do this Yer. Nope, no you can't.

You have 20A rated receptacles and that's the highest you can for general use receptacles.
A 30A is a special receptacle that only certain things will fit.

Replace those 30A breakers with 20A and keep the wiring and devices.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 09:59 PM   #17
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

220V Garage recepticals


I'd consider just adding a sub-panel out in your work shop. Inside the room if there isn't going to be dust or such flying in the air, like woodworking. Outside, around the corner or something if there is.
I'm guessing they're just 20A recepts, especially if they're duplex. I know you can get 30A recpts, but I haven't seen a 30A duplex before...maybe there is, just haven't seen one.
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 08:18 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 178
Default

220V Garage recepticals


How about a dedicated 20A circuit for the heater (single 20 outlet on GFCI breaker)? You may never need that GFCI protection, but that one time..... Bad idea to have 30A protection on devices that are only rated for 20 (Howse the fire insurance?).
Run multiple circuits and alternate them. Circuit A outlet, then circuit B outlet, circuit A outlet (or C), etc. This way you're less likely to overload a single circuit. Good luck. pete
petey_c is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 08:58 AM   #19
DIY Junkie!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: split between Houston, TX and SW KS.
Posts: 223
Default

220V Garage recepticals


Quote:
Originally Posted by petey_c View Post
How about a dedicated 20A circuit for the heater (single 20 outlet on GFCI breaker)? You may never need that GFCI protection, but that one time..... Bad idea to have 30A protection on devices that are only rated for 20 (Howse the fire insurance?).
Run multiple circuits and alternate them. Circuit A outlet, then circuit B outlet, circuit A outlet (or C), etc. This way you're less likely to overload a single circuit. Good luck. pete
The location in which the 30 amp breakers/20 amp outlets are located is the garage, an all metal structure, even has metal work areas. There is, however, a combustible source--damn trumpet vines have worked their way between the siding and are on the inside of the structure. That will change quite soon, long before the electrical system is ever used. So far all I have done with it is power a cheap electric weed-eater, no stress on the system yet. I'll change the breakers for 20's and feel safer about it, thanks guys!

OK, but it gets worse. This whole issue came about b/c I recently upgraded the electrical service to the house to enable me to power a huge electric HWOD unit. I had to run 6-3 w/ground into the basement, so as long as I had the wall covering off and access to the basement, I ran 3 new circuits, each on a 30 amp breaker, and each 10-2 with ground, each with no terminal gear attached and the breaker in the "OFF" position right now.

It will be an easy matter to change out those 3 breakers for 20 amp, will do that, too. Sounds like this was another of my harebrained ideas !

Will there be any negative effect from me leaving the 10 gauge wiring in? Right now I could get it out if need be, but I'd rather leave it there since I've already gone to considerable trouble to conceal the wires. One of those 10 gauge wires could definitely become a dedicated 20 amp circuit for the heater, it goes to the right place.

Thanks for the heads-up on this, guys. I've put considerable work and $$ into this project and wouldn't want to take any chances .

Dugly
YerDugliness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 02:33 PM   #20
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,692
Default

220V Garage recepticals


The only problem using the 10 wire on the 20 amp circuit is the extra money you paid for it.
It will also be tougher to put the wire on the outlet.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 03:05 PM   #21
DIY Junkie!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: split between Houston, TX and SW KS.
Posts: 223
Default

220V Garage recepticals


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
The only problem using the 10 wire on the 20 amp circuit is the extra money you paid for it.
It will also be tougher to put the wire on the outlet.
Oh, the $$, lordy-lordy, if you only knew the whole story you'd realize why a 1/2 of a 250' roll of 10-2 w/ground was the least $$ I threw away on the whole project !

And, man, I sure found out about getting the wires on the outlet, that stuff is TUFF!

It's good to know that I can leave the 10 gauge in place, thanks for that bit of good news........I can easily remove one of the wires I ran, leaving two of the 10 gauge circuits in place and replacing he shortest of the circuits with the correct gauge 12-2 w/ground, it's only about 5' into the basement, only about 10' long in total.

Thanks again, guys--I'm feeling much better about being able to correct this problem I created for myself .

Dugly

Last edited by YerDugliness; 08-22-2008 at 03:17 PM.
YerDugliness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 03:18 PM   #22
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,692
Default

220V Garage recepticals


Something you can do is pigtail a piece of #12 to the #10 and then put it on the outlet.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mold in detached garage jkrodger Building & Construction 15 05-01-2009 01:46 PM
Garage Recepticals Grommet Electrical 8 03-11-2008 09:24 PM
Crazy Garage Extension, Building over blacktop?!?! commissure General DIY Discussions 4 09-13-2007 11:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.