220v To Garage - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2012, 06:31 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 97
Unhappy

220v to garage


I would like to add a 220v socket, or convert one of the current 110v sockets in my garage for welder use. The problem is, my circuit panel is not in the garage. It's in the laundry room directly across from the garage with a hallway in between.

Would it be better to convert A 110 socket or run a dedicated 220 socket? And how would I go about doing this?

Advertisement

sen2two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 06:37 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,703
Rewards Points: 2,366
Default

220v to garage


If you want to do it to code,
you will have to run another line !
Can you not follow the route of the original line ?
Do you want an earth and a neutral ?

Advertisement

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 08:04 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

220v to garage


Run a new circuit. Do you have the welder? What are its specs?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 12:16 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 97
Default

220v to garage


The welder is an ac/dc 175amp tig welder.

How would I go about running a new line/circuit? I never ran any electrical in a house before...
sen2two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 01:36 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

220v to garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by sen2two View Post
The welder is an ac/dc 175amp tig welder.

How would I go about running a new line/circuit? I never ran any electrical in a house before...
If you never ran it before I think it will be the best move have the electrician come in and assit you on that one this will be the safest move on that instead of someone whom not really confortable with the electrique system.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 02:13 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 97
Default

220v to garage


While that would be a good choice. I am a DIY person and always have been. That is why i am asking this here.

If I do my research and get questions answered here, I should be able to do it safely and correctly.
sen2two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 03:20 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

220v to garage


I found the book Wiring Simplified to be both affordable and helpful. It makes a good read. Home Depot has it, but their copy was out of date when I purchased mine, so I bought it from a bookstore. You want the 43rd edition, based on the 2011 National Electrical code. (You are in the U.S., right?)

What is the rating on the input of the welder? Not only would it probably be breaking electrical code (I am in Slovakia right now, so I don't remember for sure how it would be for the US), but also it is unlikely that the existing wires are large enough to handle the current needed.

You may want to go ahead and install a larger cable and circuit breaker however, if you anticipate ever getting a bigger welder out there. The cost will not be too much more and will save you the frustration of having to run another line out there.

How many prongs does your welder's plug have?

Generally, it is pretty straightforward-- you just need to add the appropriately sized breaker into the panel, pull the cable to the garage, and install the outlet.

Of course there are all sorts of details:
  • You must buy a breaker compatible with your panel (which usually means the same brand).
  • If your garage is not dry-walled, then (if I remember correctly, but check) you may need to run the cable through conduit where it is exposed.
  • You'll get to practice dry-wall patching as well, since it will be certainly necessary to cut some holes in the wall to get to the breaker panel and pull the cable.

Advertisement


Last edited by freedomlives; 08-06-2012 at 03:22 PM.
freedomlives is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MWBC to Garage Questions benleef Electrical 3 02-22-2012 12:02 PM
220V 15A outlet in Garage curiousB Electrical 97 01-27-2012 10:53 PM
220v service for garage chevelle Electrical 2 11-11-2011 06:23 AM
How to wire a detached Garage? (w/ Conduit?) FLintonRice Electrical 7 06-27-2011 02:08 PM
Pouring Concrete Slab in a small rickety garage. RORO Building & Construction 0 10-19-2010 04:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts