Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-16-2010, 10:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Lightbulb

220v equipment to 110v


Today i purchased some used woodworking equipment. When I got home i discovered that two of the pieces of equipment were 220v. As I dont have 220v can i convert the equipment to operate on 110v?

haroldblewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 11:07 PM   #2
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220v equipment to 110v


A lot of equipment can be connected for either 110 or 220. You'll need to look on the nameplate of the motors, and also we need to know what type of controls it has.

If the motor can be re-connected, the nameplate will state 'volts 115/230' or something like that. If there's only one motor, and a simple switch for the control, you'll need to make sure that the switch can handle the HP of the motor at the lower voltage. Most can. You might need to replace the cord with a larger one, since the current will be higher at the lower voltage.

A lot of equipment that is factory wired for 220 won't work on a 20 amp 120 volt circuit, even if it can be re-connected for 110.

Rob

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 12:54 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220v equipment to 110v


The major issue is you have to double check the nameplate on the woodworking machinery to see if that can able to run on 120 volt supply there will be interal connection change at the motour junction box and the starting switch { if it have low voltage cut off or thermal overload block on the switch }

But if that nameplate say 240 volt only no note of 120 volts then it will not be festable to run on 120 volt circuit at all

there are few info we can able provide you once you give us the motor model number we can able tell you the correct connection sequice ditto with the switch if the situation called for.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 11:44 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220v equipment to 110v


Ok
I have found out that one of the pieces of equipment has a motor marked 115/230v. This piece of equipment has a 2hp motor. I believe that I can re wire this to operate on 110 v

The other piece has a plate that says 230v only single phase.. I believe that I cannot change this equipment. It also has a 3hp motor. i'm led to believe that it is too big to run on 115v.

Any comments
haroldblewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 12:48 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220v equipment to 110v


Where will this woodworking equiment will be located in ??

Somecase you may have to add a circuit if your breaker box have room in there or get a subpanel in garage { if detached }.

There is few spots it can able bring the new circuit pretty easy and some are pretty tough all it depending on the set up.

Unforetally a true 3 HP motour is pretty hard on 120 volt circuit it will draw anywhere from 28 to 34 amps { you can able tell by reading the nameplate and look for AMPS it will tell you how much current it will draw.}

A faux 3 HP motor will useally limited to 15 amp on 120 volts they are more like about 1.5 HP or so.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
220v, convert


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main box feeding 220v and 110v brearker box off a 50am breaker? uvamosk Electrical 30 10-14-2009 10:46 PM
Adding 110V outlets to 220V line MarcG Electrical 25 04-29-2009 06:04 AM
Convert 220V to 110V wrldruler Electrical 13 09-15-2008 11:55 AM
110v vs. 220v gunboatbay Electrical 17 05-15-2008 08:09 AM
220v from 110v leboyd Electrical 6 03-19-2006 08:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.