Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2011, 09:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

220v 4 wire recepticle replaced by 3 wire receptical


I am replacing a 220v receptical so that I can use my dryer. The dryer has a 3 prong plug and won't fit into the current receptical. Anyway, heres my question.

The new 220v receptical I bought from Home Depot only takes 3 wires, and doesn't appear to have a place for a ground wire.

I have a Black, White, Red, and Ground wire coming through the electrical box. What do I do with the ground wire? Tape it off?

Rob1555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 09:58 AM   #2
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 700
Default

220v 4 wire recepticle replaced by 3 wire receptical


What you're doing is not allowed.

you must replace the cord on the dryer, not the receptacle in/on the wall.

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 10:06 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default

220v 4 wire recepticle replaced by 3 wire receptical


Okay, I didn't realize that. An electrician friend just called and said the same thing. Looks like I'm headed back to the store. Thanks!
Rob1555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM
Help 220v 4 wire to 3 wire fhome45 Electrical 2 04-22-2008 05:46 AM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM
Baseboard Heater: Can I wire it to plug into an AC recepticle? JBiz Electrical 3 12-01-2007 08:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.