Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2008, 01:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

220v 16.8amp Receptacle Install


I just bought a shaper to add to my workshop and need to install a 220 outlet into my garage in order to use it.
Shaper Motor Specs are:

13.1-11.8 amps
208-230 Volts
60hz
1 Phase

I would like the circuit to accept up to 16.8 amps because that is what my jointer requires.

So with that said what size breaker and gauge of wire would be sufficient for a 16.8 receptacle? Can I use 3 wire cable?

Plug for shaper is standard size plug with two horizontal pins and one ground.

Also just wanted to check that as long as the amps of a machine plugged into this outlet sit below the amperage of the installed receptacle it will be safe to use that machine off that receptacle? For example my mortiser is 2.55 amps.

I appreciate any help.

mcbmoreno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 03:13 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

220v 16.8amp Receptacle Install


You need a 240v-20A circuit. This would typically be wired with 12/2 cable.
Use a 20A-250v 3-wire receptacle. This will accept a 20A-250v plug OR the 15A-250v plug your shaper has.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 04:44 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220v 16.8amp Receptacle Install


That would be a NEMA 6-20R, similar to a Leviton #5821:

kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 07:02 PM   #4
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220v 16.8amp Receptacle Install


If it were me, I'd do what is suggested above, 12/2, 20 amp two pole breaker, and 20 amp 250 volt receptacles. These receptacles come in duplex also, but they're harder to find, and likely cost more than twice as much as a single.

The only problem might be with the jointer. A 16.8 amp motor on 240 volts is 3 HP. A 20 amp breaker might not start a 3 HP motor. The shaper motor is 2 HP (maybe 1-1/2), a 20 amp breaker will start it just fine.

To answer your other question, any 240 volt load that's less than the circuit size will work perfectly. Even if it's less than 1 amp.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 07:33 PM   #5
DIY Junkie!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: split between Houston, TX and SW KS.
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220v 16.8amp Receptacle Install


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
The only problem might be with the jointer. A 16.8 amp motor on 240 volts is 3 HP. A 20 amp breaker might not start a 3 HP motor. The shaper motor is 2 HP (maybe 1-1/2), a 20 amp breaker will start it just fine.
Rob
I realize this might be a rather elementary concept, so please pardon me if I seem to be embracing Tim the Tool Man's "....ugh, More Power!!" philosophy, but in this case, would it be better for the OP to wire in a 30 amp/double pole breaker with 10/2 wire in order to ensure that there would be adequate power to start the motor on the jointer? I ask b/c I don't know if more amps = more hp capacity, or if it is a factir that is limited by the 220V current---just don't understand, nope, hope you can help .

I had envisioned a high-capacity 30 amp/120V circuit in a project home, hoping to power multiple high-power audio amplifiers from the dedicated 30 amp circuit, and found out a 30 amp/120V circuit takes a very unique plug/receptacle, nothing like the one pictured above. IIRC, the plug was designed to be inserted into the receptacle and then twisted. It was such a harebrained idea that I abandoned the quest for a high-amp 120V circuit and will wire in multiple dedicated 20 amp circuits to the location instead.

Dugly
YerDugliness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 09:37 PM   #6
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220v 16.8amp Receptacle Install


If a 30 amp circuit were run, using #10 wire, it certainly would start the jointer motor every time.

Trouble is, you'd need to use 30 amp receptacles with a 30 amp circuit, not 20 amp ones. The best way to go here would be twist-lock. NEMA L6-30. They're just a shade bigger than the 20 amp straight-blade ones, but will still fit in a one-gang box. I'd use deep boxes with #10's. The 120 volt version of this receptacle is a NEMA L5-30. They are the same size, but the blade configurations are different. Both of these are pretty common in commercial/industrial buildings.

My recommendation would be to temporarily connect the jointer to a 20 amp breaker, and see if it will start reliably. A 3 HP motor will push a 20 amp breaker to the max, some breakers will hold, others will trip. Another option would be 2 circuits, a 30 amp for the jointer, and a 20 amp for everything else.

Rob

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing new wall receptacle... jaysen Electrical 18 06-10-2008 08:26 PM
220V Washer 3-pronged to 220V dryer-outlet Primergy Electrical 19 03-27-2008 10:40 PM
Wiring a 220v dryer receptacle pjpjpjpj Electrical 8 06-05-2007 04:08 PM
Split Receptacle on 3-Way Circuit NPS Electrical 6 11-03-2005 09:28 AM
20A or 15A receptacle ejlog Electrical 3 02-21-2005 06:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.