220V 15A Outlet In Garage - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2012, 05:20 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 393
Rewards Points: 250
Default

220V 15A outlet in Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
So how is this going to affect me at 2 in the morning when i get 119 volts at the ssy on a furnace im working on should i be scared?
Ive done some of my best welding over the years running a 240v stick welder off of 277v,is that a bad thing?
You can put 110 volts into a device rated for 125 volts. There is no problem with that as its rated for more then you are supplying it with. You cannot, however, do the reverse. At least, not safely; NOT unless you are somehow stepping down the voltage.

Advertisement

jasin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 05:20 PM   #32
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

220V 15A outlet in Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen
So how is this going to affect me at 2 in the morning when i get 119 volts at the ssy on a furnace im working on should i be scared?
Ive done some of my best welding over the years running a 240v stick welder off of 277v,is that a bad thing?
Lucky it was 119v if it was nominal 125v I may have killed you
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 05:23 PM   #33
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

220V 15A outlet in Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by jasin View Post
Sub-panel is a very good idea/suggestion. He probably would only need too, a 60 amp panel at most. That may, however, overload the main panel. If the main panel has a dryer, furnace, AC, etc. on it, then having a 60amp sub-panel will most likely overload the main. Also, if he has a sub-panel he will need a sub-panel with a built in cut off / interrupt switch; I believe that is require by code.
The number and size of branch circuits will not overload the main breaker,its the number of items actually being used at any one time you have to watch
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 05:23 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 393
Rewards Points: 250
Default

220V 15A outlet in Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Can you give me an example?
You work in the electric field and yet, do not understand the dangers of overvolting and/or going beyond maximum ratings?
jasin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 05:24 PM   #35
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

220V 15A outlet in Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
Lucky it was 119v if it was nominal 125v I may have killed you
Are you sure about that?
Im thinking amperage is a bigger safety issue than voltage
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 05:26 PM   #36
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

220V 15A outlet in Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by jasin View Post
You work in the electric field and yet, do not understand the dangers of overvolting and/or going beyond maximum ratings?
Im just an old retired guy,always willing to take lessons.
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 05:26 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 393
Rewards Points: 250
Default

220V 15A outlet in Garage


@plummen

You remind me a lot of the people who plug 25 devices into one receptacle and power strips into power strips.
jasin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 05:27 PM   #38
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

220V 15A outlet in Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen
Are you sure about that?
Im thinking amperage is a bigger safety issue than voltage
Of course I was joking as you said volts don't kill, amps do
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 05:27 PM   #39
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

220V 15A outlet in Garage


So hows that maintenance job going?
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 05:29 PM   #40
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

220V 15A outlet in Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
Of course I was joking as you said volts don't kill, amps do
Sorry I didnt look at the name,thought it was jasin posting again!
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 05:30 PM   #41
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

220V 15A outlet in Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by jasin

You work in the electric field and yet, do not understand the dangers of overvolting and/or going beyond maximum ratings?
Your the one who doesn't work in the field and therefore have no clue what your talking about. Anything that is made in the states to be installed single phase will be rated for 120v or more.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 05:30 PM   #42
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

220V 15A outlet in Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by jasin View Post
@plummen

You remind me a lot of the people who plug 25 devices into one receptacle and power strips into power strips.
Thats why I need guys like you to set me straight,for my own good!
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 05:30 PM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 393
Rewards Points: 250
Default

220V 15A outlet in Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Are you sure about that?
Im thinking amperage is a bigger safety issue than voltage
Cone on, use your brain.

A receptacle for example, wont supply 125 volts to a device if there's only 119 volts going to it. And a receptacle that has 119volts going to it when the nominal voltage is 125 is because the voltage is being stepped down somewhere NOT because, as you claimed, the nominal voltage is not 125.

Like I said though, that is not what I was speaking of. I was speaking of the reverse. You seem to not understand that though. That does not surprise me though as you are just trolling.

Last edited by jasin; 01-23-2012 at 05:32 PM.
jasin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 05:32 PM   #44
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

220V 15A outlet in Garage


What are you talking about?
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 05:34 PM   #45
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

220V 15A outlet in Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by jasin

Cone on, use your brain.

A receptacle for example, wont supply 125 volts to a device if there's only 119 volts going to it. And a receptacle that has 119volts going to it when the nominal voltage is 125 is because the voltage is being stepped down somewhere NOT because, as you claimed, the nominal voltage is not 125.
Oh you mean receptacles won't add the 6v for you? Well then how can your appliance work?

Advertisement

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
European 220v Tools use with US 220v Outlet dominator Electrical 20 08-03-2012 12:21 AM
small secondary countertop outlet issue rasz Electrical 8 11-07-2011 05:14 PM
Odd voltages at outlet TJF Electrical 12 11-01-2011 10:13 PM
de-activate 220v electric stove outlet 6fthook Electrical 17 10-04-2011 07:32 PM
Garage Insulation yamster Insulation 0 07-01-2011 02:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts