220v To 120v - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2005, 09:41 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

220v to 120v


HI I'am currently changing my closet where I used to have a washer/dryer into a small office. I have a 220v outlet that was used for the dryer in the closet. I wanted to know if I can take the 220v outlet out and put in a 120v outlet instead? Thanks!

Advertisement

blwjrma71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2005, 05:42 PM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

220v to 120v


Short answer...NO

Longer answer...maybe, but I wouldn't recommend a DIY'er trying to split 240 into 120. Call an electrician.

Advertisement

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2005, 06:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 253
Rewards Points: 250
Default

220v to 120v


I'll go out on the thin ice and say "yes" until speedy or jbfan come along. Your dryer probably had a #10 wire with black white and ground. It should be a straight run to the panel. It seems to me if you take out the 240, (double) breaker and replace it with a 20amp single and connect the white to the neutral bar the only issue is that your #10 is oversized. Oversized wire is becoming an issue in our area because of what future people might hook up to it. We used to oversize quite a bit on remodels and although I can see the nec's reasoning I'm not going to go around downsizing on my house. Again that is just my thoughts until the real electricians come along. HS
K2eoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2005, 06:34 PM   #4
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

220v to 120v


As long as you cut the exposed red conductor out and mark the wire clearly as 2 cond. cable. That's what I meant by "maybe...but..............."
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 07:43 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

220v to 120v


It depends on what wires you have now. Is it a 3 wire or 4 wire plug. As stated above, yoou can remove the two ploe breaker, reduce to a 20 single pole breaker, then you can splice some #12 onto the #10 in the oulet box and conect to the outlet. If you have 4 wire, remove the red wire, and cap it of with a wire nut, do not cut it, you may want to use the 240v again.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
European 220v Tools use with US 220v Outlet dominator Electrical 20 08-03-2012 12:21 AM
Wiring a 220v dryer receptacle pjpjpjpj Electrical 8 06-05-2007 05:08 PM
Black and white romex for 220v circuit? NateHanson Electrical 2 05-02-2007 05:43 PM
220v from 110v leboyd Electrical 6 03-19-2006 09:51 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 09:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts