Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 03:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

220V to 110V conversion?


I recently purchased an aquarium from a soldier who returned home from Germany. The light, filter, and heater have 220V plugs. What type of convertor should I purchase in order to use this for my 110V home? I am worried about continuous use. I've been reading about convertors online, but am still needing some assistance.

Total wattage of the items I need to use is 350. I was thinking of using something like this: http://www.220-electronics.com/volta...nd-series.html

Can I get a 220v powerstrip, plug in my 220 items, and then plug the power strip into the convertor? Would I have to purchase a convertor for each item I need to use?

Thanks for any helo.

Eric84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:39 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,248
Default

220V to 110V conversion?


Toss it and just go buy a new one.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:42 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Default

220V to 110V conversion?


I'd spend more on replacing the lighting system and filter than I would buying a convertor. (assuming I can use a convertor like I think I can...)
Eric84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:49 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

220V to 110V conversion?


You could buy one of those converters, such as the 500 watt unit for $25.

Plug in a power strip, and then all the accessories should work fine.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
micromind (01-20-2013)
Old 01-20-2013, 07:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 1,135
Default

220V to 110V conversion?


The converter will solve the voltage issue, but frequency may also be an issue. European power is 220 V, 50 Hz, American is 120 V, 60 Hz., The frequency probably won't affect the lights, but it will affect the filter motor. May be a problem, may not be a problem but in the long run it would be better off replacing instead of modifying..
Msradell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:27 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Default

220V to 110V conversion?


Thanks for the information. So, I would be okay getting a convertor for the lights? I am fine with replacing the filter.

How does the convertor work? Do I just hook up the 220V plug to the convertor and then the converter into my 110V outlet?
Eric84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:43 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Default

220V to 110V conversion?


Actually, I just looked on the tag of the filter and it says 220-240V 50HZ.


I've never seen a convertor or used one. Would I be able to plug multiple things into it? Do I need to get a 220V power strip, plug my items into the 220V powerstrip, then plus the powerstrip into the convertor, then the convertor into the 110 wall outlet?

Last edited by Eric84; 01-20-2013 at 08:46 PM.
Eric84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:22 PM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

220V to 110V conversion?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Msradell View Post
The converter will solve the voltage issue, but frequency may also be an issue. European power is 220 V, 50 Hz, American is 120 V, 60 Hz., The frequency probably won't affect the lights, but it will affect the filter motor. May be a problem, may not be a problem but in the long run it would be better off replacing instead of modifying..
Becarefull what ya stated if this have indentscent bulbs then it will not affect at all but with flourscent verison it may produce flicker or ballast will fail to work properly at 60 HZ source with 50 HZ ballast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric84 View Post
Actually, I just looked on the tag of the filter and it says 220-240V 50HZ.


I've never seen a convertor or used one. Would I be able to plug multiple things into it? Do I need to get a 220V power strip, plug my items into the 220V powerstrip, then plus the powerstrip into the convertor, then the convertor into the 110 wall outlet?
The issue will be filter motour as you stated that is 220-240 volts 50 HZ I know it can work on 60 HZ but it will run faster and it will run hotter than it was design on oringal 50 HZ source.

If the motour get burnted out then you will have just get a standard North Americiane verison then the issue will go away.

The heater that is iffy depending if just plain jane bimetal it is ok but with electronic control it may or may not work properly at all.

So that is the only few quirks you will find out.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:48 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,885
Default

220V to 110V conversion?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Toss it and just go buy a new one.
This. Running a 50 Hz motor on 60 Hz is not a good idea. And as frenchelectrician noted, there are other potential issues as well.


Last edited by md2lgyk; 01-21-2013 at 06:52 AM.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to md2lgyk For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (01-21-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting a 220V two-gang outlet to 110V kevindd992002 Electrical 17 09-30-2011 06:17 AM
110V from 220v pump circuit DBachman Electrical 10 08-27-2011 11:57 PM
220V & 110V outlets rickinnocal Electrical 21 05-13-2011 01:16 PM
Main box feeding 220v and 110v brearker box off a 50am breaker? uvamosk Electrical 30 10-14-2009 10:46 PM
220v to 110v conversion rddrappo Electrical 21 06-17-2009 09:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.