Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-22-2011, 07:53 PM   #1

Share |

220 wiring questions

Hi everybody, I'm new to the forum, and I'm just looking for a helpful answer.
To begin, I am nothing NEAR a licensed electrician. I have been doing it myself, with the help of books, for about 10 years, and have little proper experience, but I have been wiring long enough to understand the difference from good and bad wiring.
With that out of the way on the the reason I'm here.
I am trying to wire in a 220 box for a stove, and have come upon a snag. There is no more room in the electrical box for another breaker, so I am wondering if this idea will work...
There is a 25A for a Water Heater, and a 25A for the AC. They are both run individually to their own 220 breakers.
If I were to get a 50A breaker and wire them both to it, to make room for the 50A for the stove?
Any and all assistance would be appreciated. thanks.
Stilz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 11:04 PM   #2

220 wiring questions

This is not a good idea. Its not even to code. This is a good time to call in a pro to asses the situation. There are ways that are similar to what you want to do, but some items need to be looked at first. Let the electrician advise you on the best method. It will be money well spent.
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 04:21 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen

220 wiring questions

Better off installing a sub panel.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 06:15 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.

220 wiring questions

Last edited by Speedy Petey; 10-23-2011 at 06:41 AM. Reason: Misread OP. My reply was incorrect because of it.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote