Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-18-2008, 11:57 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

220 volt switch for compressor


I have an air compressor (220v) that used to be hard wired into a house (before I bought it). The guy I bought it from changed it over, so now it has a 220 plug on it. But it doesn't have an on/off switch. Where can I buy a 220volt on/off switch? What type of switch is it?

The only thing I could find at Home Depot looked like a miniature breaker box with 2- 30 amp fuses. It was a big disconnect switch about 8 1/2" tall with an on/off lever on the side. Is this what I need?

Here is a pic of it

http://www.electric-supplier.com/pro...1n_w243361.php


powers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 12:15 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 127
Default

220 volt switch for compressor


That will work.

hpp58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 02:25 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

220 volt switch for compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by powers View Post
I have an air compressor (220v) that used to be hard wired into a house (before I bought it). The guy I bought it from changed it over, so now it has a 220 plug on it. But it doesn't have an on/off switch. Where can I buy a 220volt on/off switch? What type of switch is it?

The only thing I could find at Home Depot looked like a miniature breaker box with 2- 30 amp fuses. It was a big disconnect switch about 8 1/2" tall with an on/off lever on the side. Is this what I need?



Here is a pic of it

http://www.electric-supplier.com/pro...1n_w243361.php

Here in Canada, Home Depot carries a 220 volt/30 amp breaker box. Something of this nature must be available in your area.
I recently bought one for my cottage a/c. The 30 amp breaker is extra!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 02:44 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,459
Default

220 volt switch for compressor


You should be able to get that same thing without the fuses. It's called an unfused disconnect.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 07:57 PM   #5
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,596
Default

220 volt switch for compressor


If it's 2HP or less, a 20 amp 2 pole light switch will work. Sometimes you can find a 30 amp one that is rated at higher HP, just look on the box or the switch itself to see what HP it can handle.

Rob
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 10:13 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Default

220 volt switch for compressor


Thanks for the help guys!
powers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 11:03 PM   #7
Cow
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 116
Default

220 volt switch for compressor


I agree with Micro. Look for some 2 pole motor rated switches, coincidentally I just installed a few yesterday. I know they come in 20 and 30 amp sizes, they look like a heavy duty light switch.
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 11:38 PM   #8
Electrician's Helper
 
Pudge565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 202
Send a message via AIM to Pudge565
Default

220 volt switch for compressor


are you talking about a pressure switch since it is plugged in I take it that that is what you are talking about but I could be wrong. Since it is plug and cord you can just unplug it to disconnect.
Pudge565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 10:19 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Default

220 volt switch for compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pudge565 View Post
are you talking about a pressure switch since it is plugged in I take it that that is what you are talking about but I could be wrong. Since it is plug and cord you can just unplug it to disconnect.
No, it's got a working pressure switch. It just doesn't have a on/off switch. I wanted to wire one up so I can just leave it plugged in and hit the switch to turn it on. The plug is right behind the compressor, so it's a pain in the butt to get to.
powers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 10:20 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Default

220 volt switch for compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cow View Post
I agree with Micro. Look for some 2 pole motor rated switches, coincidentally I just installed a few yesterday. I know they come in 20 and 30 amp sizes, they look like a heavy duty light switch.
Is this something I can get at home depot? The people that work there don't know too much, so I try to do my homework before I go. Thanks a lot!
powers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 11:53 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default

220 volt switch for compressor


You can find this switch at :
http://www.gordonelectricsupply.com/index.jsp?path=find



Quote:
Originally Posted by powers View Post
I have an air compressor (220v) that used to be hard wired into a house (before I bought it). The guy I bought it from changed it over, so now it has a 220 plug on it. But it doesn't have an on/off switch. Where can I buy a 220volt on/off switch? What type of switch is it?

The only thing I could find at Home Depot looked like a miniature breaker box with 2- 30 amp fuses. It was a big disconnect switch about 8 1/2" tall with an on/off lever on the side. Is this what I need?

Here is a pic of it

http://www.electric-supplier.com/pro...1n_w243361.php

Woodyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 12:05 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

220 volt switch for compressor


Go to an electrical supply house and get a 30 amp double pole switch. One that will fit in a regular switch box. Mount your switch in a convenient location and use the receptacle you are plugged into for the power.
You can use a single pole switch if you cannot find the 2 pole. Just switch one wire like it is in the pressure switch.
Try to find the double pole switch, with the single pole, one wire will always be hot to the pressure switch.
The blade switch above will work just fine and may even be less money than the snap switch.

PS.....Doesn't the compressor have an on/off switch?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 04:04 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Default

220 volt switch for compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
PS.....Doesn't the compressor have an on/off switch?
No. It was hardwired into a house circuit. Then the previous owner installed a plug w/out a switch.
powers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 11:12 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

220 volt switch for compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by powers View Post
No. It was hardwired into a house circuit. Then the previous owner installed a plug w/out a switch.
The reason I asked you is because mine has a switch located right at the pressure switch.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 12:52 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: So. IN.
Posts: 161
Default

220 volt switch for compressor


hard wire and use the breaker to turn on and off

comp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 09:34 PM
old wire, backfed switch question Jack A. Trades Electrical 6 07-03-2008 11:05 AM
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 05:06 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.