Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-21-2012, 12:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

220 volt Spa Installation


Thank you in advance for your help.

I am installing a new 220 volt Hot Tub in my backyard on a concrete slab. To power the tub I am utilizing a previously discarded 220 volt circuit. This circuit was previously used to supply an electric range. The range was long ago converted to gas and the electrical connections terminated. The house being built in the 1970s used three conductor #6 Aluminum cable (two insulated hot legs and a bare neutral all covered by a cable sleeve) to supply the range. I have spliced into this cable at a junction box in the crawl space and run it to a disconnect box about 10 ft. from the hot tub using 4 conductor #6 copper wire (two hots, one neutral, one ground - all insulated within the cable) using romex, then wire and conduit where appropriate. The (green) ground wire coming from the new splice is not being utilized as there was nothing to connect to at the junction box. The 50 amp breaker for this circuit at the main panel was replaced with a 50 amp GFI Breaker. The hot tub has now arrived and is in place ready for final hookup.

I am confused about the grounding of the hot tub. What are my options for grounding the tub since the original source cable did not have a ground wire? To complicate things a bit, the house has aluminum siding. I have been reading that driving a ground rod next to the tub is not appropriate and may not be as safe as not installing a second ground rod. Must not I ground the hot tub in some fashion or another? I don't think that it would be appropriate or to code to ground to the aluminum siding of the house; and the main panel is a good long distance to where the hot tub is positioned. What is your best advice as to how to proceed in this installation? Thx.

CommonHeritage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 12:39 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,781
Default

220 volt Spa Installation


You have several issues and I will cover a few, but other will add to the other issues.

How did you connect the copper and AL wiring?
The slab needs to be bonded.
Adding a ground rod will do nothing for you.
The best bet would have been to remove the exsisting wire and replace it.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 12:51 PM   #3
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,670
Default

220 volt Spa Installation


Knowing where you live will enable a local electrician to provide more insite.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 12:56 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Default

220 volt Spa Installation


Thx.

The copper and aluminum wires were connected with special copper/aluminum splice lug connectors inside a junction box using an anti-oxidant wrapped in electrical rubber and then electrical tape.

The concrete slab is part of the house structure and previously supported a defunct 120v old hot tub. The age of the old tub warranted that it be replaced; plus I wanted to upgrade to 220v.

Removing and replacing the existing cable would not be practical because it spans a great distance and runs inside and throughout the house to get back to the main panel.

It may be that I will have to install a new run from the main panel but I was hoping to avoid this if possible by utilizing this existing circuit.

Thx again.
CommonHeritage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:30 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Default

220 volt Spa Installation


Thx.

I live in the great state of Washington, King County, city of Auburn.
CommonHeritage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:39 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,781
Default

220 volt Spa Installation


Are you sure the tub is a straight 240v or is it 120/240?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:29 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Default

220 volt Spa Installation


The tub is likely 120/240. It does have a single light within. Can't imagine that being 240v.

Its looking more and more like a new run is needed.
CommonHeritage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:34 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

220 volt Spa Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by CommonHeritage View Post

Its looking more and more like a new run is needed.
I hope so.
That old SEU range line is absolutely 100% NOT acceptable to use for this tub.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (11-21-2012)
Reply

Tags
220v, bonding, grounding, hot tub


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Veneer Brick Installation jefsboys Remodeling 3 11-01-2012 06:42 PM
30 amp 220 volt to 110 volt Gregad511 Electrical 5 08-18-2012 06:11 AM
24 volt AC wiring in same conduit as 220 volt single phase and in same outdoor enclosure as 220 v silgle phase and 3 phase arbailey Electrical 5 05-24-2012 08:43 PM
Can you mix 6 volt and 12 volt batteries. hbnavarrete Electrical 8 02-25-2011 06:18 PM
Different styles of 220 volt recepticles? MrLinux Electrical 8 01-24-2008 06:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.