Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-21-2008, 01:17 PM   #1
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Share |
Default

220 Volt 15A GFCI -- where does one get a breaker?


I'm getting ready to install a bubble tub (use air rather than water to create movement) the rated draw from the motor is 3A at 220/240V.

I thought "no problem" just pick up a GFCI breaker, pop it in and life's good. No such luck, I can't locate one. Is there such an item? If not, how else should I provide the GFCI protection for this device.

TIA!

__________________
when it comes to breakfast, the chicken is dedicated, the pig is committed.
LMASD
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 01:30 PM   #2
Whatamess
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 423
Default

220 Volt 15A GFCI -- where does one get a breaker?


Can the motor be switched to 120V? The data plate will have a diagram if you can.

http://www.spaguts.com/Product.aspx?...FQoaswod8D-2kA

__________________
I may go home hungry, but not tired and hungry.

Last edited by TazinCR; 08-21-2008 at 01:34 PM.
TazinCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 01:59 PM   #3
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Default

220 Volt 15A GFCI -- where does one get a breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TazinCR View Post
Can the motor be switched to 120V? The data plate will have a diagram if you can.
I don't believe so. And the link goes to the same thing I've been able to find...all sorts of 50+ amps...but not 15.

Thanks anyway!
__________________
when it comes to breakfast, the chicken is dedicated, the pig is committed.
LMASD
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 02:14 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

220 Volt 15A GFCI -- where does one get a breaker?


Why not use a 20A? Did you wire it with #12 or #14?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 04:38 PM   #5
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Default

220 Volt 15A GFCI -- where does one get a breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Why not use a 20A? Did you wire it with #12 or #14?
I haven't yet...so I can go either way.
__________________
when it comes to breakfast, the chicken is dedicated, the pig is committed.
LMASD
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 05:43 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Default

220 Volt 15A GFCI -- where does one get a breaker?


What Brand/style panel do you have? Most common panel mfgs. offer these breakers, although they are pricey.

Square D offers QO series 2-pole GFI breakers in 15A, 20A, 25A, 30A, 40A, 50A, and 60A.

QO215GFI is the part number for a QO series, 2-pole, 15 amp GFI breaker.
__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 05:55 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

220 Volt 15A GFCI -- where does one get a breaker?


215GFCB's are certainly made. Finding one is a different story.

220GFCBs are very common on the other hand.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
220, bubble tub, gfci


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 02:29 PM
New GFCI Breaker trips with no load bmurphywa Electrical 6 04-06-2008 08:48 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
GFCI outlet vs. breaker - GF trip speed LanterDan Electrical 2 01-09-2007 06:05 AM
GFCI breaker problems bwoo Electrical 5 12-09-2006 02:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.