Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-17-2012, 03:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

a 220 switch


i have a meat saw which is a 220 i have a switch with two brass screw and twoblackscrew which ia20volts switch how should i wire that switch

stanley bazile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 03:11 PM   #2
Member
 
wareagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Nashville
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 0
Default

a 220 switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by stanley bazile View Post
i have a meat saw which is a 220 i have a switch with two brass screw and twoblackscrew which ia20volts switch how should i wire that switch
Please correct this.

wareagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 05:14 PM   #3
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Rewards Points: 0
Default

a 220 switch


A switch that controls a motor needs to be rated for both the HP of the motor as well as the voltage it operates at.

There is no code requirement for a control switch to open all hots, but it's generally a good idea to use a two pole switch to control a 240 volt motor. A two pole switch will have 4 terminals, a single pole has 2. A two pole switch breaks both hots, a single pole breaks only one.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 05:20 PM   #4
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,552
Rewards Points: 4
Default

a 220 switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
A switch that controls a motor needs to be rated for both the HP of the motor as well as the voltage it operates at.

There is no code requirement for a control switch to open all hots, but it's generally a good idea to use a two pole switch to control a 240 volt motor. A two pole switch will have 4 terminals, a single pole has 2. A two pole switch breaks both hots, a single pole breaks only one.
But it's important to note that not all 4-terminal switches are double pole switches. Some are 4-way switches, and they look pretty much identical.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 05:29 PM   #5
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Rewards Points: 0
Default

a 220 switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
But it's important to note that not all 4-terminal switches are double pole switches. Some are 4-way switches, and they look pretty much identical.
This is true, I was thinking of a basic toggle switch that mounts in a round hole, but light switches do indeed come in both versions.

Also, a lot of light switches don't have the HP rating stamped on them, you have to look in the manufacturers specbook.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 08:42 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,869
Rewards Points: 8
Default

a 220 switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
But it's important to note that not all 4-terminal switches are double pole switches. Some are 4-way switches, and they look pretty much identical.
They look alike but a 2 pole switch will say "on" and "off" if it is a toggle switch.

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
1 pole + 3 way switch momof2labs Electrical 1 05-22-2010 10:37 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.