Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2010, 08:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

220 recepticle with 110 current to metal box


Today I wired a single-phase 20 amp 220V 3-blade receptacle. After testing as expected, I got 220 V when both hot receptacle slots were tested. Also got 110 Volt from the ground receptacle slot to each of the hot wires slots individually. I have a metal receptacle box and happened to notice it registers 110 V when I touch a single hot receptacle slot and the metal box. I thought this odd since my ground is insulated and not a bare cooper wire. Is this normal? Does the female receptacle ground to the metal box? (no neutral was wired)

cwillard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 08:48 PM   #2
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

220 recepticle with 110 current to metal box


Yes this is normal if you grounded the box properly. The ground is to give you a low impedance path back to your panel so the breaker will trip if there is a short to ground, and so your body would be a higher impedance and not go back through you.

codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 08:51 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

220 recepticle with 110 current to metal box


Thanks. I wouldn't have noticed except I just happend to touch the box while testing. Appreicate the info.
cwillard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 11:23 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

220 recepticle with 110 current to metal box


Quote:
Originally Posted by cwillard View Post
Does the female receptacle ground to the metal box? (no neutral was wired)
All metal boxes should have a ground pigtail from the device (receptacle) to the metal box. There will be a 10/32 threaded hole in the box. Take a green or bare wire and a green grounding screw from this connection point to the grounded terminal of the receptacle. Yes, is the answer to your question.

Note: There are exceptions to this rule. But to be on the safe side, just install the jumper.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
220, 3-blade, box, single-phase


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 04:58 PM
Wire size for 300watt trans, 3 way 100ft Al the Diy guy Electrical 16 03-22-2008 08:46 PM
Sub panel grounding sluggermike Electrical 27 11-11-2007 01:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.