220 Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2013, 08:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 97
Default

220 outlet


I would like to add a 220v outlet in my garage for welder use. The problem is, my circuit panel is not in the garage. It's in the laundry room directly across from the garage with a hallway in between.

I bought a 2 pole 50 amp breaker and put it into my circuit panel. I'm just not 100% sure on running the wires. Seems pretty strait forward. Run the 3 wires from my welder to my breaker and install the 220 outlet in the garage. But I am unsure on which wire goes where...?

The breaker has space for 2 wires, how can I tell which wire goes where on the beaker. Same goes for the wires on the welder. How can I tell what's what.

The other question is wire choice. It will be about 25 to 30 feet of wire. I was told either 6 or 8 gauge is what I need. But is that solid or the multiple stand?

Advertisement

sen2two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 09:34 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,573
Rewards Points: 2,042
Default

220 outlet


Since this circuit is specifically for a welder, you can run #8 NM ("Romex") cable on a 50A breaker. You could actually probably go smaller, but you're relying on a special code exception for welders. The cable will have two insulated conductors and a bare grounding conductor. The two insulated conductors (probably black and white; maybe black and red) go on the breaker, and the grounding conductor goes on the panel's ground bar. You'll need to run the cable through the attic probably to get it from the panel to the garage. So you'll come out the top of the panel, through the attic, and then down into the wall where the welder will be. Install a 2-gang or 4-square box, and put in a 50A 3-conductor receptacle that matches the welder's plug.

Advertisement

__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 09:38 PM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,820
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

220 outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by sen2two View Post
I would like to add a 220v outlet in my garage for welder use. The problem is, my circuit panel is not in the garage. It's in the laundry room directly across from the garage with a hallway in between.
You'll have to figure a way across.
Above, below or through... which makes the least mess?

Quote:
I'm just not 100% sure on running the wires.
Use some #6-3 romex (3w + G).
Consider using that to feed a 60A sub panel rather than just one outlet.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 09:44 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

220 outlet


red and black into either on that breaker
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 09:47 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

220 outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
red and black into either on that breaker
If that OP have X-3 conductors then oui but with X-2 conductors depending where the OP live in USA or Canada it can go either way but black et remarked white is typicall done often on USA side but Canada side either remarked white conductor or speical straight 240 volt cable which they used black et red conductor only beside common bare ground conductor.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 06:05 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 97
Default

220 outlet


Thanks everyone for the info. I think that's everything I needed to know as far as installing it.

Is there a place I should look online for the wire needed?The home depot near by didn't carry it on hand. So if I'm going to order it, I would rather get the best deal possible.
sen2two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 06:22 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

220 outlet


HD certainly does carry that cable.
6/2 is all you need, but 6/3 will be fine.

Please, please, PLEASE consider getting a good book or two on home wiring. From the questions you ask and how you ask them I get the very clear impression that you have absolutely no idea what you are doing. You should NOT be doing a job like this simply by asking a few questions.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (06-23-2013), jbfan (06-23-2013), k_buz (06-23-2013)
Old 07-06-2013, 11:16 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 97
Default

220 outlet


I am going to attempt the install of the 220v outlet this weekend. I have the wire and the breaker. Just need to get the outlet. I have attatched a few pics for my questions.

This is a picture of my breaker box. At the bottom right (red arrow) you can see my 50amp 2 pole breaker I popped in.





Here is a closer shot of it. Pointing out the 2 spots where my wires will go, obviously.






My wire colors are black, white,and the 3rd is bare. I am going to put the black in the #1 spot, and the white on the #2 spot. But I am unsure which ground would be correct in my breaker box...? And will it matter where the black or white go on my outlet?


Should I shut anything down while doing this? Or is leaving my 50amp breaker off good enough?
sen2two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 12:12 PM   #9
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

220 outlet


Run the bare to the same bar as the rest of the bare wires.

The white wire needs to be taped, same as the one a few slots above.

Normally, I'll install the wires on the breaker then install the breaker, everyone has their own way of doing this.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed .... do not work on live electrical
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 12:21 PM   #10
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

220 outlet


Do you have a disconnect outside? I would shut off the main if I were you, but I don't see one in this panel.

I would wire the breaker, and then pop it In the panel. It will be easier that way.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 12:34 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 97
Default

220 outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610 View Post
Run the bare to the same bar as the rest of the bare wires.

The white wire needs to be taped, same as the one a few slots above.

Normally, I'll install the wires on the breaker then install the breaker, everyone has their own way of doing this.
Thats what I was planning to do. Just wire the breaker and leave it hanging until i was done.

But why should I wrap the white wire in tape?
sen2two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 12:49 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 282
Rewards Points: 266
Default

220 outlet


The panel you are wiring into looks to be a sub-panel, because there is no main breaker to shut power off to the entire panel. If there is another "main" panel in the home somewhere look for a large amperage breaker in that panel marked sub-panel or similarly. Turn that breaker off to remove the danger while working in the one shown. You really don't want your possibly first experience working with electricity to be the first hand experience of what happens when a screwdriver or your hand accidentally touches something it shouldn't while your face is that close. Research "arc flash" if you would like to know the potential dangers of what you're getting into in a live/hot panel.

The tape (black) is to indicate that the conductor is being used as a "hot" conductor. White is the color used to indicate a neutral wire. Mark it at both ends. I use a large permanent black magic marker to color the white covering.

Last edited by old_squid; 07-06-2013 at 12:51 PM.
old_squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 01:19 PM   #13
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

220 outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by sen2two View Post
But why should I wrap the white wire in tape?

With it being used on a breaker, it is no longer a white (grounded,neutral) wire, so it must be re-identified as a feed.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed .... do not work on live electrical
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 03:54 PM   #14
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,110
Rewards Points: 500
Default

220 outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post

I would wire the breaker, and then pop it In the panel. It will be easier that way.
If you can not kill power to that panel, make sure the breaker is in the "OFF" position before you clip it into the panel.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sublime2 For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (07-06-2013)
Old 07-06-2013, 07:01 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 97
Default

220 outlet


Thanks everyone for the help. Its pretty much done now. Took me like 6 hours to snake the wires through! lol... There was a lot of obstacles in the way.

All that is left is to get the outlet that matches my welders plug and connect it to the wires then pop the breaker in. Forgot to bring the plug end with me when I went to the store to match it. At least the hard part is over.

Thanks again.

Advertisement

sen2two is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFI outlet won't reset; voltage at lower terminals--bad outlet? jbeall Electrical 2 06-07-2013 09:52 PM
Outdoor Outlet seansy59 Electrical 3 03-09-2012 04:50 PM
Swithced Outlet to Ceiling Light/Fan Troubles adamiano86 Electrical 7 01-29-2012 10:36 PM
Switched outlet series Overkll Electrical 4 12-07-2010 08:38 AM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 09:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts