220 Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2011, 02:03 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

220 outlet


Im installing a 3-prong outlet for a dryer. I understand the black and red are the hot wires and the green/copper is the ground. Do I just cap off the white wire on both ends?

Advertisement

Mikeystone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 02:38 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

220 outlet


NO! 3-prong cords must have the ground and neutral connected together inside the dryer. Normally, there's a metal strap that goes from the center neutral terminal to the chassis of the dryer.

Can you snap a pic of the inside of the dryer for us, and post it here?

Advertisement

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 02:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

220 outlet


Here's a pic of how the inside of the dryer is wired.

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 04:32 AM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

220 outlet


You SHOULD install a 4 wire outlet and retrofit the dryer cord(easy). A 3 wire system(which is no longer legal to install for good reason) Has the neutral(white) connected to the plug and the ground is not used and CANNOT connect to the receptical(tho if metal box must connect to box.)

A three wire system used the neutral as a ground(or is it ground for a neutral). It is grandfathered in for previous installs, but should be upgraded if practical to a 4 wire system in which you have 2 hots a neutral and a ground.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 06:59 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

220 outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeystone View Post
Im installing a 3-prong outlet for a dryer. I understand the black and red are the hot wires and the green/copper is the ground. Do I just cap off the white wire on both ends?
Where are you installing this receptacle and why???

A new dryer circuit/receptacle install REQUIRES a 4-wire receptacle with a neutral AND a ground.

Even if you had a 3-wire there before I would change it.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 08:56 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

220 outlet


What Cowboy and Speedy said!

I was under the impression that he had an existing 3-wire receptacle, and a 3-wire cord (not sure if one has to change the receptacle if it's already there).

But you should change the receptacle, yes, if at all practical.

Advertisement

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switched Outlet Issue mjm Electrical 11 01-23-2011 08:41 AM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 06:13 PM
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 04:36 PM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 09:38 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts