Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2011, 01:03 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

220 outlet


Im installing a 3-prong outlet for a dryer. I understand the black and red are the hot wires and the green/copper is the ground. Do I just cap off the white wire on both ends?
Mikeystone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 01:38 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,311
Default

220 outlet


NO! 3-prong cords must have the ground and neutral connected together inside the dryer. Normally, there's a metal strap that goes from the center neutral terminal to the chassis of the dryer.

Can you snap a pic of the inside of the dryer for us, and post it here?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 01:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,311
Default

220 outlet


Here's a pic of how the inside of the dryer is wired.

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 03:32 AM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

220 outlet


You SHOULD install a 4 wire outlet and retrofit the dryer cord(easy). A 3 wire system(which is no longer legal to install for good reason) Has the neutral(white) connected to the plug and the ground is not used and CANNOT connect to the receptical(tho if metal box must connect to box.)

A three wire system used the neutral as a ground(or is it ground for a neutral). It is grandfathered in for previous installs, but should be upgraded if practical to a 4 wire system in which you have 2 hots a neutral and a ground.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 05:59 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,683
Default

220 outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeystone View Post
Im installing a 3-prong outlet for a dryer. I understand the black and red are the hot wires and the green/copper is the ground. Do I just cap off the white wire on both ends?
Where are you installing this receptacle and why???

A new dryer circuit/receptacle install REQUIRES a 4-wire receptacle with a neutral AND a ground.

Even if you had a 3-wire there before I would change it.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 07:56 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,311
Default

220 outlet


What Cowboy and Speedy said!

I was under the impression that he had an existing 3-wire receptacle, and a 3-wire cord (not sure if one has to change the receptacle if it's already there).

But you should change the receptacle, yes, if at all practical.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switched Outlet Issue mjm Electrical 11 01-23-2011 07:41 AM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 05:13 PM
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 03:36 PM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 08:38 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.