220 Line Measures 204vac - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2012, 11:03 PM   #1
Extreme DIY'r Adk's, NY
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 293
Rewards Points: 250
Default

220 line measures 204vac


Troubleshooting an led system. The input line measures 114vac on one leg and 116vac on the other and between hots measures only 204vac. I suspect the power is coming from a transformer already since the warehouse was originally built for a Canadian company and could be 575v instead of 480v. I wont get into the led problem just wondering if anyone has experience with such an input situation and if this is typical.

Advertisement

crecore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 11:49 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

220 line measures 204vac


Quote:
Originally Posted by crecore View Post
Troubleshooting an led system. The input line measures 114vac on one leg and 116vac on the other and between hots measures only 204vac. I suspect the power is coming from a transformer already since the warehouse was originally built for a Canadian company and could be 575v instead of 480v. I wont get into the led problem just wondering if anyone has experience with such an input situation and if this is typical.
What you have is 208 volt network system so that is common for commeral to use this voltage very often in office and small to med sized commercal buildings.

If you feel the 120 volts are little low you can call in the electrician to have the transfomer adjusted ( some of the transfomer have taps so they can be adjusted to correct voltage level )

And it is common to have either 575 or 480 volts triphase to the transfomer to downstep to 208Y120 volts which that is very common to do that.

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 11:50 PM   #3
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

220 line measures 204vac


Voltages are typical for a 120/208V system very likely this is what you have, especially if in a commercial building. '220v' doesnt actually exist in the US, you have 120/240V 1, 120/208v 1(Common in apartment buildings and light commercial), 120/208v 3, 120/240v 3 Delta, and 277/480v 3, as the most common service voltages
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 12:29 AM   #4
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

220 line measures 204vac


I agree with the above; you have two legs of a 120/208 3 wye connected system.

Very common when the service is more than 120/240.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 06:29 AM   #5
Extreme DIY'r Adk's, NY
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 293
Rewards Points: 250
Default

220 line measures 204vac


Ok, thanks for all the replies. I need to see if they can adjust this up. The transformer being used after this is a true 220-240v input. So, we are out of range quite a bit. This could be causing most or all of the problem.
crecore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 06:40 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

220 line measures 204vac


If the "120 volt" power is between 110 and 120 volts it is within accepted tolerances.

Equipment rated for 120/240 volts or 240 volts may not be operated on 208 volt systems unless the equipment is also rated for 208 (or 120/208) volts or known to be of a nature, such as containing only resistance elements, that is insensitive to downward voltage variations. But 120/240 volt equipment should work fine on a 120/240 volt system that actually measures 110/220 volts.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete blockage of main line mnp13 Plumbing 9 05-29-2012 11:51 AM
Adding a second line to existing septic line Eddietan Plumbing 3 05-10-2012 10:27 AM
Old water supply line a_lost_shadow Plumbing 7 04-20-2012 12:12 AM
Condensate Drain Line Mystery (pan full but no primary clog?) CarrieLP HVAC 21 04-05-2012 12:07 AM
Capacity loss with line size Einride HVAC 1 06-29-2009 04:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts