Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2012, 04:16 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

220 fuses


My dryer is not heating and was told to change the fuse. I cannot find the 220 volt fuse in the basement. Where would this be located?

Dreams1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 04:19 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default

220 fuses


[quote=Dreams1111;965302]My dryer is not heating and was told to change the fuse. I cannot find the 220 volt fuse in the basement. Where would this be located? What is the difference between a 220 volt fuse and a Main house fuse?

Dreams1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 05:24 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,932
Default

220 fuses


There would be two 120 volt fuses (or breakers) instead of one 240 volt.

They should be but are not guaranteed to be next to each other or, in the case of breakers, in the same double wide unit.

You should measure 240 volts between the terminal screws for the respective fuses/breakers or 120 volts from each of the screws to neutral.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 07-14-2012 at 05:27 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
Dreams1111 (07-14-2012)
Old 07-14-2012, 07:44 AM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

220 fuses


Do you even know that you don't have power to the dryer?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 07:56 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default

220 fuses


Yes everything seems fine on the dryer. I checked the heating element, the fuse on the dryer and both thermostats and all were ok. The dryer works, but will not heat.
Dreams1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 08:02 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,932
Default

220 fuses


You did not do any electrical work recently or in the meantime at the time the dryer stopped heating, did you? (re-arranging the circuits so the "240 volts" supplied to the dryer becomes zero volts even though you still measure 120 volts hot too neutral).

It is not unusual for the heating element in the dryer itself to fail.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 08:10 AM   #7
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,627
Default

220 fuses


with no power connected close the stats and ring the elements out with OHMS should show resistance or a dead short if good infinity the element is "broken" as in open if you have continuity then maybe the HI-LIMIT cap tube wore out and lost its charge if it has one...silver disc like obhject with 2 wires coming from it
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 08:12 AM   #8
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,656
Default

220 fuses


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreams1111 View Post
Yes everything seems fine on the dryer.
I checked the heating element, the fuse on the dryer and both thermostats and all were ok. The dryer works, but will not heat.
Do you have power AT the heating element?
Which of the dryer heat controls do you have power to/through?
Attached Images
 
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 08:20 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default

220 fuses


Yes there is power to the dryer and everything was checked and working. No new electrical work of any kind has been done.
Dreams1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 08:36 AM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,809
Default

220 fuses


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreams1111 View Post
Yes there is power to the dryer and everything was checked and working. No new electrical work of any kind has been done.
Everything but the heat, right? Is there 240V to the dryer???

WHO told you to "change the fuse"?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 09:30 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default

220 fuses


There is 220 volt to the dryer and it is also working. Yes everything works except the heat. The people at the appliance parts store said to check the house fuses. I did that this morning and they are also good.
Dreams1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 09:36 AM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,809
Default

220 fuses


So then the problem is obviously the dryer, and not the circuit.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 09:48 AM   #13
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,656
Default

220 fuses


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreams1111 View Post
There is 220 volt to the dryer and it is also working.
Yes everything works except the heat.
Can you measure 240V at the heating element connectors?

If not... then work your way through the control circuit to see where the power is being stopped. It can be tedious but it isn't rocket science.
Attached Thumbnails
220 fuses-dryer-heater-circuit.fuse.jpg  

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TarheelTerp For This Useful Post:
Dreams1111 (07-14-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat pump wiring and fuses icandoitmyself1 HVAC 13 06-01-2014 04:15 AM
Air conditioner keeps popping fuses BrandenG Electrical 6 06-20-2012 04:19 PM
Replacing 240V fuses for dryer Mark77 Electrical 14 01-10-2012 09:06 PM
Goodman central air and heat blowing fuses DannyR HVAC 13 05-29-2011 06:21 PM
Intertherm elec furnace slowly burns 60A fuses. Goldenvoice HVAC 9 01-05-2011 10:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.