Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2010, 09:53 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pass Christian, MS
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

220 feet to tool shed.


I know very little about electricity. I recently built a 12x24 man cave shop with 3 16x24 covered bays attached for my tractor, boat and trailer (happy man). I am researching how to wire it properly. I have 200 amp service to the main house. There are 2 empty breaker slots in the inside panel. I was told I could put 1 60 amp breaker or 2 30's (double pole 30's?) in there. I was told 6-3 or tray wire without conduit underground, could carry the juice to my shop 200 feet away. I want to run a fish, beer, and ice fridge continually, a couple of FL shop lights in the evening, and and occasional small power tool/battery charger. I plan on putting a box in the shop to split the power through 2 30 amp breakers. Does this seem OK so far. Any help would be appreciated.

Joe Willie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 10:20 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 288
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220 feet to tool shed.


There are many books designed for beginners covering how to add a sub-panel. Get yourself one, teaching every aspect over a forum is too much.
You will need to use wire rated for underground use.

michaelcherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 10:43 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,596
Rewards Points: 26
Default

220 feet to tool shed.


One thing that is incorrect in your plan is the use of the 30 amp breakers at the shed. General use circuits are prohibited from being greater than 20 amps.

You can check the stickies on this forum for subpanel installation information.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 12:07 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pass Christian, MS
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220 feet to tool shed.


I guess my main question is... will 6-3 or smaller carry the juice 200 ft without much loss in power?
Joe Willie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 12:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

220 feet to tool shed.


Using #6 wire (depending upon exact wire) will give you 40a 240v with a 3.2% voltage drop
Are you sure the wire length will be 200'
Or longer with going underground then up to the panel at either end ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I have any more electrical service capacity? (Power for Shed) Magnus357 Electrical 7 10-13-2012 08:52 AM
Shed questions Piedmont Electrical 12 10-20-2009 09:06 PM
shed roof over old deck bluegrass General DIY Discussions 3 09-12-2009 01:03 PM
shed power suggestions rsriverrat Electrical 36 12-29-2008 12:42 PM
Help with wiring in shed sandyman720 Electrical 1 06-25-2008 11:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.