Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2007, 10:52 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

220? Electrical question


We have a old house that has 220? and 110? power lines going to it(not usre about this)

one is about straight from the power line to the wallbox and the other is like it comes from nowhere to a shut off box(220?)
how can we shut off the (220?) from the pole?(if possible)

coondog7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 11:18 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,653
Rewards Points: 1,126
Default

220? Electrical question


You'll have to call an electrician.

jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 11:36 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 500
Default

220? Electrical question


It doesn't sound like you've got much of an idea of what's going on there, and from your description I'm not sure anyone here will be able to figure it out either. My guess is that you're misunderstanding which wires coming to your house are power lines.

Nearly all houses in the US (are you in the US) are fed with 220V power on two hot wires. They enter the house through a service panel. From that panel, circuits can be fed with one hot wire for 110V applications, and two hot wires for 220V applications.

So, what is it that you are actually trying to accomplish? Why are you trying to shut off all 220V power in your house? Explain the begining of your problem, and people here may be able to tell you how to solve it, or what to ask an electrician to do for you.
NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 11:55 AM   #4
waiting for spring
 
arichard21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern NY
Posts: 171
Rewards Points: 150
Default

220? Electrical question


coondog,

cable and telephone also usually come from the same pole, or nearby.

my in laws house has underground powerlines, but the phone and cable come from the pole.

could be the same in your situation, or vice versa.
arichard21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 03:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 309
Rewards Points: 264
Default

220? Electrical question


Yeah, my guess is the same as arichard21. Sounds like the power is coming in burried, the phone & cable are coming in off the pole and coondog is thinking both are power. I used to as well.
Piedmont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 07:55 PM   #6
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

220? Electrical question


I wonder why he wants to kill it....huh.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 09:04 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,653
Rewards Points: 1,126
Default

220? Electrical question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy in ATL View Post
I wonder why he wants to kill it....huh.

Which is why I thought he should call an electrician.

jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Electrical / Car Stereo Question pjpjpjpj Electrical 4 08-12-2012 06:59 PM
Electrical Question BlueShoe2005 Electrical 1 09-10-2007 04:12 PM
Code Question: Electrical and plumbing ELurie Electrical 2 08-22-2007 08:55 PM
Noob question for basement finish electrical dtmbizzle Electrical 16 07-11-2007 07:08 AM
Electrical receptacle replacement question sherlock Electrical 7 05-20-2005 03:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.