Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2012, 11:38 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

220 air compressor


can a 3 phase motor be hooked up with 1 phase

tyson1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:02 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

220 air compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by tyson1964
can a 3 phase motor be hooked up with 1 phase
Won't work

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

220 air compressor


Yes. But you need a rotary converter or a VFD. The VFD is much less expensive, but can only power the motor. Nothing else. You can input 120 or 240 single phase and get either 230 or 460 3 phase out with a VFD.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:27 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

220 air compressor


where can i get a VFD
tyson1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:36 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

220 air compressor


Google static phase converter.
MSC, McMaster Carr are two places that have them.
They will reduce the HP by about 50% for they may or may not even start the motor.
A rotary phase converty is far better but there expencive. They also can be used to start more then one piece of equipment if there started one at a time as long as the HP is less then what the converter is rated for.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
tyson1964 (11-03-2012)
Old 11-03-2012, 01:05 PM   #6
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 2,498
Default

220 air compressor


Along with what Joe said....be aware that your going to need a lot of power. Look at the FLA on the existing motor. Lets use 10A at 240Vac 3ph, as an example...it will take a little about 4100w of power.

To get that power out of 240vac single phase you need over 17A at 240Vac.....as well as the extra power to run the VFD electronics (plus losses)....so I would estimate at least 20-25A at 240vac.

When you consider the cost of a VFD or phase converter.....you might actually be better off replacing that 3ph motor with a single phase 240Vac motor. In the long run it will be simpler and more reliable.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
tyson1964 (11-03-2012)
Old 11-03-2012, 02:22 PM   #7
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,626
Rewards Points: 1,046
Default

220 air compressor


Also, VFDs with single phase input get expensive over 3 HP.

A lot of larger VFDs will accept single phase input, but they need to be derated to about 1/2 of their 3 phase rating.

If you do indeed use a VFD, there will be some control issues you'll need to deal with. They're not plug and play.

To determine how difficult it will be to change the motor, look at HP, RPM, and Frame size. Since the existing motor is 3 phase, it is likely a standard NEMA frame, so a single phase replacement (10HP and smaller) will be easy to find.
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to micromind For This Useful Post:
tyson1964 (11-03-2012)
Old 11-03-2012, 09:04 PM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

220 air compressor


I have had good results using the Hitachi drives for small 3-phase motors on single phase power. Unlike "static phase converters" (which do not really produce 3-phase power), using a VFD will provide full rated motor power and also give you advanced control over the operation of the motor. It's great. For motors 3HP and less, I'd rather have a 3-phase motor with a VFD than a single phase motor. For larger motors it's hard to find VFD's that will accept a single phase input. You can usually trick larger VFDs into working, but you have to under-rate them by at least a third.

Here's a 3HP VFD that I have used for a few years on an outdoor pump in Arizona. It's held up fine:
http://www.driveswarehouse.com/p-212...0-022nfu2.aspx

__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
tyson1964 (11-03-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Compressor Fittings - Differences? roasted Tools 3 09-19-2012 09:15 PM
Help assembling compressor jfhspike Tools 5 03-27-2011 11:07 AM
Air compressor and framing nailer for DIY ADKstorm Tools 20 11-11-2010 08:38 AM
Please help: blown fuse, slow compressor fan, and hissing noise from compressor frazwr01 HVAC 10 06-27-2010 10:08 PM
New Compressor - Wrong Charge? shayneb HVAC 4 08-23-2008 09:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.