Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2013, 11:11 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

22 awg wire


can I use 22awg wire for the garage door button?

jgrenier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 11:16 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,670
Default

22 awg wire


Should be fine.
I prefer something bigger.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 11:42 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Default

22 awg wire


Ok, like what? Lowes suggested 18 . but, I have 22 and just need a second button in the garage area.

Thanks for your help by the way!
jgrenier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 11:43 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,670
Default

22 awg wire


How far is the run/
I would use 18 also.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 11:56 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Default

22 awg wire


Not very far. it's a 16 foot garage opening and I simply need to move the button to the inside of the garage. So half way over about 8 feet and down about 4 feet. 12 feet? Just trying to keep a tenant out...
jgrenier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 12:45 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 103
Default

22 awg wire


I don't see a problem with using the #22 wire. It is very low current and very short duration.

Look here:

http://www.stardoorparts.com/Wire-fo...s-p/35265b.htm
davido30093 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 12:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 71
Default

22 awg wire


If you have it, use it. Low voltage, low current, momentary usage, no issues. If it doesn't work, then you will know because the opener won't respond and you can get something heavier.
FixitDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 12:52 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Default

22 awg wire


Thank you all.. Just wanted to be sure before I started. Enjoy your day!

jgrenier is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THWN wire; Gray pvc Conduit; and GFCI receptacles Buzzy Electrical 29 09-26-2012 02:41 AM
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 08:12 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.