20A Circuits - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2009, 08:16 AM   #16
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

20A Circuits


15 and 20 amp receptacles are identical except for the face in the same grade.



Advertisement

__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 09:14 AM   #17
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Rewards Points: 250
Default

20A Circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bocolo View Post
I understand the rarety (sp?) of 20 amps circuit in a home. My understanding of the NEC code (I am not an electrician) is that 14 gauge wire with a 15 amp breaker is considered "minimum" on a residential property. Everything I have read so far on other books have one thing in common and that is that when doing wiring you should always consider and plan for future uses. Given that 12 gauge is not that much more expensive (probably a bit harder to run though) than 14 gauge would it not make sense to wire in 12 gauge instead? Not trying to question you, just trying to understand. I guess my simple question is: Although rarely seen, is it ok to do it? Thanks for your time.
To try and answer your questions: 14g cable with 15a circuits is the minimum in that you should use nothing smaller than that for permanent wiring. However, upgrading is never a problem and note I said minimum- the electrical code is minimal safety- you can go over and above that but in some cases, overage is not necessarily better.
For me, in new wiring I use 20a circuits and 12g cable for general outlet purposes and most of the time 15a, 14g cable for lighting. Usually your lighting is permanently installed- not likely to be plugging more lights into a circuit than are already there. For outlets there is the possibility that you might have a few more items plugged in at a given time than others, vacuum cleaner, iron, higher drain electronics etc. which would be better suited for using 20a, 12g circuits. Older homes often had 14g throughout except in certain circumstances. Something to keep in mind, the breaker amperage is to protect the wiring. Another thing to be mindful is the difficulty to work with 12g and also the boxfill requirements.
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 09:26 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

20A Circuits


Thanks for your time. I see your point.
__________________
One Pound of Knowledge Requires Ten Pounds of Common Sense In Order To Be Useful
Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:48 AM   #19
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

20A Circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
This is a bit misleading Jamie.

A typical standard resi grade receptacle is about $.40

A typical spec grade 15A receptacle (CR15) is about $1.50
A 20A CR20 is about $2.00

A hospital grade 20A receptacle is about $6

I do buy decorator style, so I am sure that makes a differnce in pricing. Those are also the prices I pay retail. Sounds like you get a much better deal. I don't think any of mine are hospital grade.
Jamie

Advertisement

__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Entire Rewire or New Branch Circuits? Typ0 Electrical 44 01-29-2009 11:54 AM
Tandem Breaker and Circuit(s) whowadat Electrical 1 01-09-2009 05:13 AM
replacing old wire on existing circuits... red86yota Electrical 9 12-08-2008 07:00 PM
Power circuits under leaky bathtub? Beren Electrical 1 07-23-2007 10:02 AM
One neutral for two circuits?? TronCarter Electrical 13 01-14-2007 09:21 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts