Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2009, 09:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 71
Share |
Default

20A Circuits


Probably a dumb question................

My dining room outlets are on a 20A circuit (20A breaker and 12 gauge wire). I am repainting the room, and will be replacing the outlets and switches with new ones. The original outlets were standard 15A outlets. I know that the 15A outlet has a 20A pass through rating, but when replacing, should I put in the 20A outlets instead?

cougar01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 10:02 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

20A Circuits


15 is fine and recommended.

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 10:03 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

20A Circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
15 is fine and recommended.
Make that 2 !
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 07:17 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

20A Circuits


Make that three.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 05:01 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 71
Default

20A Circuits


OK. Thanks. 15A it is.

Out of curiosity, where/when is installing a 20A outlet recommended? Dedicated circuit only, or.....?
cougar01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 05:07 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

20A Circuits


The only place would be where you need it. That, and a single receptacle on a dedicated 20A circuit.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 06:20 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Default

20A Circuits


So, stores like Home Depot like to sell us 20A receptacles and charge us more money when the guts are exactly the same as 15A. A mistake I made when I first started buying there.
I've still got some 20A receptacles on 15A branches because I didn't pay attention to the configuration of what I was installing. I've got to change them before I get an inspector<g>

FW
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 08:07 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

20A Circuits


I am a bit confused. Would it not be a good idea to keep consistency on everything? 20 amp breaker - 12 gauge wire - 20 amp receptacle? I can understand where you say you CAN but I am a bit confused on where you say RECOMMENDED. You would only do the above on a dedicated circuit? These are probably dumb questions but I am trying to educate myself. What am I missing or misunderstanding? Thanks for your time and input.
__________________
One Pound of Knowledge Requires Ten Pounds of Common Sense In Order To Be Useful
Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 08:34 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

20A Circuits


I buy the Pro grade receptacles
Since the prices are close on the 15a VS the 20A I buy the 20a
The Pro grade seem to be much better quality then the reg grade

With an older house (50's) I also like to be able to tell the new 20a circuits from the older 15a circuits
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 08:39 PM   #10
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Default

20A Circuits


Pro grades are made better than regular grade. However, regarding 20a, nowhere in a residential home have I seen a regular need for 20a receptacles.

As said before, 20a receptacles can be used where needed on a 20a breaker using 12g wire but just take a look at your appliances etc. How many 20a plugs do you see? An occasional air conditioner maybe but otherwise none. A 20a receptacle configuration is rarely if ever used in the home- commercially yes, residential, rare if any.

The guts of a good quality 15a receptacle is the same as a 20a (therefore the 20a flowthru) but with a different faceplate configuration.
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 09:13 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

20A Circuits


I understand the rarety (sp?) of 20 amps circuit in a home. My understanding of the NEC code (I am not an electrician) is that 14 gauge wire with a 15 amp breaker is considered "minimum" on a residential property. Everything I have read so far on other books have one thing in common and that is that when doing wiring you should always consider and plan for future uses. Given that 12 gauge is not that much more expensive (probably a bit harder to run though) than 14 gauge would it not make sense to wire in 12 gauge instead? Not trying to question you, just trying to understand. I guess my simple question is: Although rarely seen, is it ok to do it? Thanks for your time.
__________________
One Pound of Knowledge Requires Ten Pounds of Common Sense In Order To Be Useful
Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 09:31 PM   #12
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

20A Circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bocolo View Post
I understand the rarety (sp?) of 20 amps circuit in a home. My understanding of the NEC code (I am not an electrician) is that 14 gauge wire with a 15 amp breaker is considered "minimum" on a residential property. Everything I have read so far on other books have one thing in common and that is that when doing wiring you should always consider and plan for future uses. Given that 12 gauge is not that much more expensive (probably a bit harder to run though) than 14 gauge would it not make sense to wire in 12 gauge instead? Not trying to question you, just trying to understand. I guess my simple question is: Although rarely seen, is it ok to do it? Thanks for your time.
Yes, run 12 gage, 20A circuits. The issue here is that 15A outlets cost .39 cents. 20A outlets cost about $6.
Most home have a number of 20A circuits, but many don't have the 20A outlets on them, because there is no reason or requirment for 20A outlets on general purpose 20A circuits run in a home, such as to the kitchen. 20A circuits are not rare in homes in the US, they have been required in areas such as the kitchen, bath, and laundry for many years.

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 09:42 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

20A Circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
The issue here is that 15A outlets cost .39 cents. 20A outlets cost about $6.
This is a bit misleading Jamie.

A typical standard resi grade receptacle is about $.40

A typical spec grade 15A receptacle (CR15) is about $1.50
A 20A CR20 is about $2.00

A hospital grade 20A receptacle is about $6
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 09:57 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

20A Circuits


Thanks for the information. I am starting to see some logic now. Thanks again.
__________________
One Pound of Knowledge Requires Ten Pounds of Common Sense In Order To Be Useful
Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 10:04 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

20A Circuits


Unless you are under NEC 2008 & require tamper proof, or weather resistant (outside)

Tamper proof
Normal are now ~$1.50
Pro grade are now $5+ (20a was $2.49)

Weather & tamper ~$6+

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Entire Rewire or New Branch Circuits? Typ0 Electrical 44 01-29-2009 10:54 AM
Tandem Breaker and Circuit(s) whowadat Electrical 1 01-09-2009 04:13 AM
replacing old wire on existing circuits... red86yota Electrical 9 12-08-2008 06:00 PM
Power circuits under leaky bathtub? Beren Electrical 1 07-23-2007 09:02 AM
One neutral for two circuits?? TronCarter Electrical 13 01-14-2007 08:21 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.