? On 20A Circuit / Outlets / #of - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2005, 10:32 PM   #1
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 20

? on 20A circuit / outlets / #of

Hello all,

This is my fist post. So far I find this site to be very informative!

I have a 60A sub-panel in my basement to allow me to put some additional circuits in my basement (which I am finishing). I am a model railroader and have some unique power requirements...

Anyway, I want to run a circuit for normal room outlets. My plan was to run this off of a 20A breaker. I have been reading that it is OK to use 15A duplex outlets on a 20A circuit with 12AWG. I just want to confirm that is OK. Also, how many outlets can I put on this circuit? I understand that the first outlet needs to be GFCI.

Thanks much for any feedback.

Steve Johnson


remhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 05:28 PM   #2
Long-Time DIYer
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Rewards Points: 500

? on 20A circuit / outlets / #of

I'm not a licensed electrician, only a DIYer in that department, but in my opinion you're OK using 12/2-with-ground off of a 20 amp breaker with 15amp receptacles. Using a GFCI receptacle as the first outlet on the circuit will make all receptacles past it in the same circuit GFCI.
The number of outlets depends on the load, but you should have no problem with 8.
Check with your local Building Inspection Department for local code, permit and inspection requirements first.
Good Luck!


Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 08:55 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,251
Rewards Points: 854

? on 20A circuit / outlets / #of

There is no limit to how many receptacles on a circuit in a residence, only common sense and general consensus.
Typically it is 10 or so on a 20 amp circuit.

Also, if a GFI is installed at the first receptacle it DOES NOT mean the downstream receptacles are automatically protected. It must be wired that way. You can either protect them or not depending on your situation.
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit configuration??? Clutchcargo Electrical 11 05-30-2007 08:01 AM
Conflicting Circuit Info!?? BenBil Electrical 9 01-15-2007 08:26 AM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM
Replacing light killed downstream outlets, totally stuck amissner Electrical 5 07-13-2006 06:02 AM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 10:05 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts