Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-27-2012, 10:40 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Default

20a circuit, 15a outlets


I'm running 20 amp circuits in my shop for things like my routers, drill press, Sanders and shop vac, can I use 15 amp duplex outlets on them? Somewhere I remember reading on here that I could. None of the tools take more than 15 A but combined they could be more than 15 total which is why chose to do a 20 amp circuit. However 20 amp outlets are beastly more expensive, and since I don't have anything drawing 20 A I was planning on using fifteens. Is this acceptable?

ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 10:58 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,937
Rewards Points: 2,990
Default

20a circuit, 15a outlets


As long as you have 12-2 wire and no more then a 20 amp breaker your good to go.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:00 AM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

20a circuit, 15a outlets


Need a location
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:01 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,964
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

20a circuit, 15a outlets


Fifteen amp receptacles are okay on a 20 amp circuit provided you have at least two (one duplex or two singles). (added later:USA; National Electric Code)
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-27-2012 at 11:06 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:04 AM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

20a circuit, 15a outlets


Depends on location
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:09 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Default

20a circuit, 15a outlets


There in my shop, it's 12-2 wire 20 amp breaker, and it will be at least five outlets on each circuit
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 12:31 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,107
Rewards Points: 2,124
Default

20a circuit, 15a outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
There in my shop, it's 12-2 wire 20 amp breaker, and it will be at least five outlets on each circuit
By location, they are asking what country?
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 12:44 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Default

20a circuit, 15a outlets


Lol. Oh ya. USA
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 01:29 PM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,107
Rewards Points: 2,124
Default

20a circuit, 15a outlets


Yes, in the US under the NEC you can use 15 amp receptacles on 20 amp circuits. They are rated as 20 amp pass through. Since you are in a shop/garage/basement they need GFCI protection (either breaker or receptacle).

And before the NEC police jump me: as long as you have more than 1 receptacle (a single duplex receptacle counts as 2.)
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 01:48 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,282
Rewards Points: 562
Default

20a circuit, 15a outlets


Beastly is another $10?
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 01:48 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Default

20a circuit, 15a outlets


Is there a maximum number of outlets I can have on one circuit? My intention is to put a GFCI at the beginning of each run and then have 4 to 5 other outlets on each circuit
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 02:12 PM   #12
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

20a circuit, 15a outlets


You will be fine with 4-5 downstream of the GFI.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best tools and efficient method for identifying outlets on a circuit, please. justplumducky Electrical 9 07-08-2012 09:27 AM
Dimming lights on one circuit, GFCI breaker tripped boatman537 Electrical 4 06-05-2012 10:43 AM
120-V outlets and 240-V outlet on same double-pole circuit? Daneel Electrical 24 04-03-2012 11:22 PM
how many outlets do you recommend on 15A circuit? Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD Electrical 10 03-03-2012 11:16 AM
Open circuit has power, close the circuit no power??? BeginnerHomeDIY Electrical 7 07-08-2009 02:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.