20A Breaker Load - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2012, 08:53 AM   #1
Always working
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

20A breaker load


I had my electrical service upgraded to 200 Amp and while adding a breaker the other day I noticed that the electrician had attached two 12Ga wires to one 20Amp breaker (2 black hots to 1 breaker). I didn't think this was allowed (code). I thought the rule was 20A breaker, connect 12Ga wire. 15A breaker, connect 14Ga wire. Did my electrician wire this correctly or not?
Thanks in advance for any advise.

Advertisement

CarlV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 08:55 AM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

20A breaker load


Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlV
I had my electrical service upgraded to 200 Amp and while adding a breaker the other day I noticed that the electrician had attached two 12Ga wires to one 20Amp breaker (2 black hots to 1 breaker). I didn't think this was allowed (code). I thought the rule was 20A breaker, connect 12Ga wire. 15A breaker, connect 14Ga wire. Did my electrician wire this correctly or not?
Thanks in advance for any advise.
Are you sure it isn't a double breaker?

Advertisement

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 09:08 AM   #3
Always working
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

20A breaker load


It's a single breaker.
CarlV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 09:09 AM   #4
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

20A breaker load


Depends on which brand/model of single pole breaker yo have,picture?
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 09:19 AM   #5
Always working
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

20A breaker load


Apologies, I'll post a pic tonight.
CarlV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:10 AM   #6
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,818
Rewards Points: 2,310
Default

20A breaker load


Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlV View Post
Apologies, I'll post a pic tonight.
Below are two example pictures.

The right one is "no" (two wires under one screw)
The left one is "yes" (one wire each in a spot meant for one)
Attached Images
   
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TarheelTerp For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-18-2012)
Old 01-18-2012, 10:14 AM   #7
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

20A breaker load


Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlV
It's a single breaker.
If it's a single breaker it depends if it is rated for 2 screws, however you will still want them on two separate breakers because now you limiting 2 lines to 20 amps together.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:14 AM   #8
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,818
Rewards Points: 2,310
Default

20A breaker load


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
If it's a single breaker it depends if it is rated for 2 screws,

however you (may) still want them on two separate breakers because you (may be) limiting 2 lines to 20 amps together.
otoh... if done correctly, doubling up may have been a perfectly fine and quite expedient method to join two small or common nature circuits into one.

other methods would be making that connection in a j box somewhere or a jbox right next to the panel or wirenutting them together right inside the panel with one pigtail to the breaker...

OP: what does the panel schedule say these circuits are for?
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TarheelTerp For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-18-2012)
Old 01-18-2012, 02:34 PM   #9
Always working
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

20A breaker load


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
Below are two example pictures.

The right one is "no" (two wires under one screw)
The left one is "yes" (one wire each in a spot meant for one)
TarheelTerp, yes, it's like your left picture. One wire on each side of the screw. So I take it from the comments that this is ok as long as the load would not exceed 20A.
CarlV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 02:53 PM   #10
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,818
Rewards Points: 2,310
Default

20A breaker load


Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlV View Post
yes, it's like your left picture. One wire on each side of the screw.
You're good to go.
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 02:57 PM   #11
Always working
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

20A breaker load


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
You're good to go.
Thanks so much!

Advertisement

CarlV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Faulty Breaker? bpm Electrical 4 08-09-2011 07:17 AM
Is it possible to change Circuit breaker to Buss fuse socket type? njchen24 Electrical 8 08-07-2011 07:27 PM
Sub Panel install eagertolearn Electrical 17 01-23-2010 06:39 PM
New GFCI Breaker trips with no load bmurphywa Electrical 6 04-06-2008 09:48 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 09:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts