208/230 Vs 115 - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2011, 01:58 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 197
Rewards Points: 172
Default

208/230 vs 115


Hello:

I have a question about 208/230 voltage as opposed to 115v. I am trying to replace an AC for my home and the unit either come in 208/230 or 115. I currently have a dedicated 20A single pole breaker for the exsiting unit. Does that mean I need to go with the 115v unit?

Thanks!

Advertisement

zephed666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 02:08 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 6,747
Rewards Points: 88
Default


If you only have a single pole breaker, then you can only install a 120 volts ac.
If you have room to add a 2 pole breaker, then you can use a 240 volt ac.

Advertisement

__________________
"The problem isn't that Hillary Clinton lies. We all know she lies. The problem is that her supporters don't seem to care"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
zephed666 (06-02-2011)
Old 06-02-2011, 02:11 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 7,138
Rewards Points: 4,008
Default


What is the amperage requirements for the 208/230 connection? for the 115 connection?

If you have a single pole 20 amp breaker (hopefully wired with 12-2 wire) you cannot exceed the 20 amps.

If it is more than 20 amps (@120 Volt) , you will have to go with the 208/230 option. That means changing out the breaker to a 2 pole device and rewiring in the main panel.

Answer the first 2 questions and we can be more specific.

Is this a unit made in the US, because 230 or 115 are not standard voltages for US. 240 and 120 are the standards.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 05:47 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,895
Rewards Points: 1,396
Default


230 volt and 230/208 volt equipment will work perfectly well on 240 volts.

115 volt equipment will work perfectly well on 120 volts.

120/240, 110/220, and 115/230 volt equipment must not be connected to a circuit with 208 in its designation unless you have insider information that it will work that way.
__________________
The good conscientious technician or serviceperson will carry extra oils and lubricants in case the new pump did not come with oil or the oil was accidentally spilled, so the service call can be completed without an extra visit.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1