Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-17-2014, 12:06 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 541
Share |
Default

200Amp panel in new construction


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
Thanks.

Again NEVER seen one.

Now I have.

Welcome





Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
(thinking about this, how do I know you didn't photoshop a 3 phase panel?)
I don't even know what to say, unless your joking? Google 400amp panel and look at the catalogs by Square D, Cutler hammer, Siemens ect or ask any large electrical supply house. They make them and they certainly do sell them. E bay has a few for sale as well with photos.

Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 12:14 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 693
Default

200Amp panel in new construction


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jump-start View Post
I don't even know what to say, unless your joking?
joking
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 12:30 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 541
Default

200Amp panel in new construction


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
joking
That was a good one then
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 02:08 PM   #19
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,223
Default

200Amp panel in new construction


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
could you send me a link so I could see a 400 amp single phase panel please.
I've never seen one.
Thank you.
If you saw the price you would understand why you haven't seen one.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
jbfan (06-18-2014)
Old 06-17-2014, 05:11 PM   #20
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,075
Default

200Amp panel in new construction


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
If you saw the price you would understand why you haven't seen one.
Why would the price be an issue if the house at hand actually needed 400 amps, obviously that cost is a non issue. People need to stop thinking with their wallet...
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 06:20 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 541
Default

200Amp panel in new construction


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Why would the price be an issue if the house at hand actually needed 400 amps, obviously that cost is a non issue. People need to stop thinking with their wallet...
2 200amp panels win the bid over a single 400, hence why they might be seen more often where the house does indeed need more than 200 amps.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 06:27 PM   #22
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,075
Default

200Amp panel in new construction


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jump-start View Post
2 200amp panels win the bid over a single 400, hence why they might be seen more often where the house does indeed need more than 200 amps.
Again, if a house seriously needs more than 200 amps, then the cost is a NON factor...
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 06:37 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 541
Default

200Amp panel in new construction


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Again, if a house seriously needs more than 200 amps, then the cost is a NON factor...
I get what your saying. A house that size make electrical look like pennies. But when a bid is involved it makes the difference.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 06:37 PM   #24
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,223
Default

200Amp panel in new construction


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Again, if a house seriously needs more than 200 amps, then the cost is a NON factor...
I think you kind of missed the intended humor....it was a slight jab (in fun) at ritelec suggesting that he never worked on any 'hi dolla' jobs that would use a 400a panel....you know....kind of suggesting it was 'out of his league'?

But in total fun.....at his expense....now your making it even more fun since we have to explain the joke to you.

Now....lets all go to the pub and have a beer or two...I'm buying the first round.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 07:15 PM   #25
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,075
Default

200Amp panel in new construction


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
I think you kind of missed the intended humor....it was a slight jab (in fun) at ritelec suggesting that he never worked on any 'hi dolla' jobs that would use a 400a panel....you know....kind of suggesting it was 'out of his league'?

But in total fun.....at his expense....now your making it even more fun since we have to explain the joke to you.

Now....lets all go to the pub and have a beer or two...I'm buying the first round.
I love beer!
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
ddawg16 (06-17-2014)
Old 06-18-2014, 08:30 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 693
Default

200Amp panel in new construction


I've worked for some $$$ people.

Yeah, you would think the cost of the panel would be a non issue,
but, imo and experience (not as a rule but most of the time)
the people with the $$$ are the tightest and $$$ becomes an issue.
IMO.

fwiw, residentially, I've done two 400's (trough/200amp panels) in the past.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 08:30 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 693
Default

200Amp panel in new construction


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
I love beer!
me too, beer or two? dozen?
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 09:54 AM   #28
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,223
Default

200Amp panel in new construction


Beer Lovers? Sounds like we need to have a party.....at my house....after I'm done with the 2-story addition...and before I start the next project
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (06-18-2014)
Old 06-18-2014, 10:27 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 693
Default

200Amp panel in new construction


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
...and before I start the next project
a glutton for punishment?


ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panel clearance requirements & workbench construction WillK Electrical 1 06-26-2011 11:56 PM
Wiring a sub panel to another sub panel Uncle Wayne Electrical 25 02-08-2011 09:50 AM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
In-line fuses used on GE 200amp panel instead of main breaker diyforum Electrical 4 11-07-2007 07:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.