200A Service Upgrade - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2015, 11:40 AM   #1
DIY Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 59
Default

200A Service Upgrade


I've been trying to get a straight answer now from a few electrical stores and a retired electrician and it seems like their answers vary.

So first off I currently have a 100A service. At the weatherhead to the meter it looks to be SER 2/0-2/0-2/0 Al wire. From the meter its has SEU 2/0-2/0 Aluminum.

I'm upgrading to a 200A 120/240 panel and cleaning the mess up in the panel. I've been told to run SEU 4/0-4/0-4/0 Al wire which I think having a 4/0 neutral wire isn't necessary, right?

I originally wanted to do with a SER 4/0-4/0-2/0 Al from the weatherhead to the meter and then SEU from the meter to the panel but it seems like everyone is trying to have me go with only SEU, why?

From the weatherhead to the meter socket it will be in conduit and then exposed (not in conduit as it goes through the wall) from meter to panel.

Should I just go with SEU 4/0-4/0-2/0 Al like the salesman at the mom and pop electrical stores said or am I correct with doing, SER to the meter then SEU from meter to panel?

If so, this is correct then, right?

SEU
http://www.nassauelectrical.com/prod...eu-4-0-4-0-2-0

SER
http://www.nassauelectrical.com/prod...er-4-0-4-0-2-0

TIA

Advertisement

doublejz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 12:03 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,567
Rewards Points: 3,384
Default

200A Service Upgrade


SER is not needed. You can use SEU both into and out of the meter into the first means of disconnect.

Advertisement

Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 01:21 PM   #3
DIY Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 59
Default

200A Service Upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
SER is not needed. You can use SEU both into and out of the meter into the first means of disconnect.
Ok, thanks. So SEU 4/0-4/0-2/0 Al should be fine for the whole run then?

Also, just to be clear, what currently is there (picture below), is SER, right?

doublejz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 01:39 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,691
Rewards Points: 2,798
Default

200A Service Upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by doublejz View Post
Ok, thanks. So SEU 4/0-4/0-2/0 Al should be fine for the whole run then?

Also, just to be clear, what currently is there (picture below), is SER, right?

I would say that is not cable but individual conductors.

If your service is run in conduit, you should use individual conductors instead of SE cable
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 02:09 PM   #5
DIY Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 59
Default

200A Service Upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
I would say that is not cable but individual conductors.

If your service is run in conduit, you should use individual conductors instead of SE cable
OK. So I could do 3x runs of 4/0 Al XHHW or 2/0 copper THHN/THWN for that section then.
doublejz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 02:12 PM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,691
Rewards Points: 2,798
Default

200A Service Upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by doublejz View Post
OK. So I could do 3x runs of 4/0 Al XHHW or 2/0 copper THHN/THWN for that section then.
The Al will be way cheaper.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 06:18 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 351
Rewards Points: 547
Default

200A Service Upgrade


I would not run aluminum on a bet . And I know how to terminate it .

I would absolutely not recommend a DIY'er use it .

God bless
Wyr
WyrTwister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 06:46 PM   #8
DIYer/PoleMonkey
 
clw1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: So Calif
Posts: 1,223
Rewards Points: 260
Default

200A Service Upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by WyrTwister View Post
I would not run aluminum on a bet . And I know how to terminate it .

I would absolutely not recommend a DIY'er use it .

God bless
Wyr
Why not? That size into a new meter pan, penetrox and tighten set screw. Not the same as inside the house. IMHO

Tens of thousands of aluminum connections into UG pull sections here. Extremely rare to have an issue.

Last edited by clw1963; 04-27-2015 at 06:52 PM.
clw1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 07:22 PM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,691
Rewards Points: 2,798
Default

200A Service Upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by WyrTwister View Post
I would not run aluminum on a bet . And I know how to terminate it .

I would absolutely not recommend a DIY'er use it .

God bless
Wyr
Your comment just scares people for no valid reason. Absolutely nothing wrong with Al in this application.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
jbfan (04-27-2015), Jim Port (04-27-2015), nap (04-27-2015)
Old 04-27-2015, 08:14 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,567
Rewards Points: 3,384
Default

200A Service Upgrade


Aluminum feeders and service cables are installed and used safely everyday. I would not hesitate to have it in my house or to install it.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 08:25 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,834
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

200A Service Upgrade


If I put in pipe I would use copper.

No pipe se al.

( though agreed nothing wrong with al in pipe )
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 08:34 PM   #12
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,691
Rewards Points: 2,798
Default

200A Service Upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
If I put in pipe I would use copper.

No pipe se al.

( though agreed nothing wrong with al in pipe )
What does " No pipe se al." mean?
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 08:41 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,834
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

200A Service Upgrade


If I didn't pipe I would use seu and ser AL


And actually. I have piped and used AL.

:- )
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 08:46 PM   #14
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,691
Rewards Points: 2,798
Default

200A Service Upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
If I didn't pipe I would use seu and ser AL


And actually. I have piped and used AL.

:- )
I am still mystified by your comments. What is your objection to Al in pipe (conduit)?
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 09:14 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,834
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

200A Service Upgrade


Don't be mystified.

There's nothing wrong with aluminum in conduit. Nothing at all.

But.

If I take the time and energy to install conduit I like to see copper in it is all

Again. Nothing wrong with aluminum.

Advertisement

ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
meter & main service panel upgrade from 100amp to 200amp CapeCod153 Electrical 2 03-26-2013 07:23 AM
Questions regarding 100amp service and panel upgrade asledge Electrical 38 12-12-2012 11:57 PM
Upgrade to 200amp service? twalber Electrical 3 07-29-2011 06:41 PM
DIY 200A main service upgrade? Philip_Soldat Electrical 54 09-07-2008 11:02 AM
Is Power cheaper with 200A Service? Dave-Denver Electrical 19 08-26-2008 11:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts