Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-26-2013, 11:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

2001 jacuzzi wiring


I have an older Jacuzzi j-365 spa, I have run a new hard line 220 with a 50 amp breaker at the service panel of the house and at the spa I have a gfi with a 50 amp breaker, my problem is the spa is only a three wire and the gfi has the fourth wire which is the neutral there is no place to connect the neutral wire in the spa, I had it all done by electrical contractors is there a way to put a neutral wire ( fourth wire ) to a three wire spa, I was told I needed the gfi for code and safety, so can anyone help, please
hotrod32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 11:30 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

2001 jacuzzi wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrod32 View Post
I have an older Jacuzzi j-365 spa, I have run a new hard line 220 with a 50 amp breaker at the service panel of the house and at the spa I have a gfi with a 50 amp breaker, my problem is the spa is only a three wire and the gfi has the fourth wire which is the neutral there is no place to connect the neutral wire in the spa, I had it all done by electrical contractors is there a way to put a neutral wire ( fourth wire ) to a three wire spa, I was told I needed the gfi for code and safety, so can anyone help, please
You will need the netural at the GFCI breaker to get the GFCI function properly if you do not use the line netural it will not function at all.

So therefore you will need the netural to get the GFCI working after that the load side if your spa is strictaly 240 volt loads without netural that is not a issue it will still work with straight 240 volt load.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 07:35 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 127
Default

2001 jacuzzi wiring


Can you install the GFI breaker at the service panel? That is where mine is located. You must have the neutral hooked up for the breaker to function. Worst case is a new GFI two pole breaker for your panel if the one outside is not compatible with your panel brand.
al_smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 09:01 AM
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 09:46 AM
Landscape wiring question: GFCI and Breaker Amp MikeInDetroit Electrical 0 11-02-2011 09:43 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.