Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-21-2012, 02:01 PM   #1
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,044
Share |
Default

200 amp service/ratings and total circuits


After installing my generator transfer switch panel I got curious about the ratings on residential main panels. I assume when one is rated for 200 amps, say, that the limiting factor is the size of the bus bars? Likewise the largest main breaker that you can install in such a panel is 200 amps.

But is there a limit in code as to the total circuits and loads that can be connected? I have a 200 amp panel with 17 15 amp 120v circuits, 2 20 amp 120V circuits, 2 30 amp 240v circuits and one 15 amp 240v circuit. That is way more than 200 amps (I realize that you will never have anything close to full load on all circuits without really trying). And the panel has a lot of space for even more breakers. Just curious if there is a NEC limit or guideline for how much load can be installed in a panel as compared to the full panel rating... or can you just install as many circuits as you have room for breakers in the panel?

__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 02:04 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

200 amp service/ratings and total circuits


If its anything like our code there's a maximum amount of breakers you can install for service size. There's also a set of guidelines to do load calculations that will determine the service size itself.

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 02:25 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,369
Default

200 amp service/ratings and total circuits


There used to be a 42 breaker maximum per panel but I think that was lifted in the last NEC code cycle. It depends on what code version your region is using.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 02:44 PM   #4
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,044
Default

200 amp service/ratings and total circuits


AFAIK our state and county just cites the NEC. I didn't count the total spaces in my panel but I think there are ~40 or so.... not that I need any more circuits than I already have connected.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
There used to be a 42 breaker maximum per panel but I think that was lifted in the last NEC code cycle. It depends on what code version your region is using.
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 03:28 PM   #5
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Default

200 amp service/ratings and total circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
There used to be a 42 breaker maximum per panel but I think that was lifted in the last NEC code cycle. It depends on what code version your region is using.
I just had an electrician install a new 200A service and panel in my house. I wanted to stay with Cutler Hammer CH and 42 space was the largest panel available.
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 03:35 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,783
Default

200 amp service/ratings and total circuits


The total connected load is what is important, not the total amperages of the individual circuit breakers.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (08-22-2012), kevinp22 (08-21-2012)
Old 08-22-2012, 07:17 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,369
Default

200 amp service/ratings and total circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinp22 View Post
I just had an electrician install a new 200A service and panel in my house. I wanted to stay with Cutler Hammer CH and 42 space was the largest panel available.
I Canada we can get 40/80 slot panels at home depot.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pex: home-run vs Brach? Why not both? teeman11 Plumbing 7 03-15-2012 09:43 AM
Limit to how many circuits can be in a panel? adpanko Electrical 11 02-15-2012 10:20 AM
Multiple circuits losing power Skip72 Electrical 6 09-20-2010 10:27 AM
Thoughts on wiring new attached garage/hallway Mi Feller Electrical 45 06-18-2010 06:47 PM
Adding odd circuits in a bedroom and hood fan oh my! beatle Electrical 3 11-19-2009 07:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.