200 Amp Service Ground Wire Size??? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2011, 10:29 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

200 Amp Service Ground Wire Size???


Starting a DIY 200 amp service entrance. By code is #6 copper wire excepted from meter to 8ft ground rods? Unsure if #4 wire is required with 200 amps. thanks for any help.

Advertisement

redleg23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 10:33 AM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

200 Amp Service Ground Wire Size???


Grounds rods never need larger than a #6. If you have a water pipe or other electrode connection the rules are different.

Advertisement

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 10:34 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

200 Amp Service Ground Wire Size???


Nope, no water lines involved. thanks
redleg23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 10:35 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,975
Rewards Points: 2,046
Default

200 Amp Service Ground Wire Size???


200 amp. service requires #3 copper wire from panel to water pipe that qualifies as a ground electrode however you can use #6 to ground rods.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 10:42 AM   #5
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

200 Amp Service Ground Wire Size???


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
200 amp. service requires #3 copper wire from panel to water pipe that qualifies as a ground electrode however you can use #6 to ground rods.

#3? T250.66 says #4 Cu or #2 Al.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 11:04 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

200 Amp Service Ground Wire Size???


Also, the grounding electrode conductor in most areas should NOT originate from the meter pan. It should originate from the main panel/disconnect.

Most POCO's have eliminated the option of placing the GEC connection from inside the locked meter pan.

Advertisement

Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What size ground wire should I use for 8 gauge power dxmullin Electrical 1 07-06-2011 03:57 PM
Adding a ground wire to a fixture? dkeith Electrical 2 06-01-2011 09:08 PM
New upgraded 200A service wire connections WillK Electrical 1 04-28-2011 03:02 PM
Sub panel grounding sluggermike Electrical 27 11-11-2007 02:23 AM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 07:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts