200 Amp Service Entrance Cable Size - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2011, 12:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

200 amp service entrance cable size


Up grading old 60 amp service to 200 amp. Have buried 3'' conduit as per code from pole to corner of house. Roughly 45 ft. from location of new 200 amp breaker box. Disconnect required with in 15 ft. of meter. Question is size of wire. 4/0 4/0 2/0 aluminum from meter box to disconnect? Then 4/0 4/0 4/0 2/0 from disconnect to 200 amp breaker box? Plan is to go from disconnect in to basement run over to breaker box. Was told doesn't need to be in conduit in basement pass the disconnect box. I'm not doing any of the wiring, just trying to install meter box & disconnect & wire so I can go ahead finish siding the house. Also is it possible to go right out the meter box with 4/0 4/0 2/0 in 2 '' conduit in the ground over to location of breaker box and eliminate the need for disconnect? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Advertisement

Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 01:51 PM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

200 amp service entrance cable size


incoming power must have a disconnect before entering the house. yes you can use SE cable without conduit (check local codes) but it is much better to have it in pipe.

Advertisement

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 02:00 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

200 amp service entrance cable size


Where are you located ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 03:56 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

200 amp service entrance cable size


I'm by Wichita Ks.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 04:05 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,962
Rewards Points: 2,320
Default

200 amp service entrance cable size


I would use a meter/main for a much cleaner look!
You need 4 wire from the disconnect to the panel, and the grounds and neutral would be separate.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 04:29 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

200 amp service entrance cable size


My old posting pop up, which didn't get much response at the time. Have answer some of the question. Just seeing if I was on the right track. 4/0 4/0 2/0 from meter box to disconnect, 4/0 4/0 4/0 2/0 from disconnect to breaker box. Most have disconnect if below or above ground if more than 15 ft. away from meter box. I don't have to pull the wire, my electric company does all that. I bury the conduit with rope in it and when I'm ready they pull the wire from pole to meter box and hook all the wires up. My old siding is off the house and if I need in the wall now is the time. Want to get this right. Thanks
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 04:49 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

200 amp service entrance cable size


I take it that meter/main would be both (meter & disconnect) combined in to one box? My electric company provides the meter box. I'll have to check with them to see if they provide that style of box. Definitely would be cleaner look. Thanks
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 11:17 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,962
Rewards Points: 2,320
Default

200 amp service entrance cable size


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck S View Post
I take it that meter/main would be both (meter & disconnect) combined in to one box? My electric company provides the meter box. I'll have to check with them to see if they provide that style of box. Definitely would be cleaner look. Thanks
Here we have to buy the meter mains.
I would look into the cost of a meter main as opposed to the cost of a disconnect.
Sometimes the ease of wireing offset the cost savings.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Service Entry Cable armyguy Electrical 10 12-30-2010 04:34 PM
Service Entry Cable armyguy Electrical 4 12-28-2010 06:19 PM
rewire and new service entrance wire dghowery Electrical 4 10-13-2010 09:31 AM
Rewire 200A service entrance OffRoadAudio Electrical 4 08-24-2009 03:27 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 11:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts