200 Amp Service - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2009, 07:35 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

200 amp service


I don't care how young or poor you are, it's no excuse to do schitty work. Do not install a 3 phase panel on a single phase service.

If the panel is new, some contractor would trade you in a heartbeat.

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 02:53 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

200 amp service


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
I don't care how young or poor you are, it's no excuse to do schitty work. Do not install a 3 phase panel on a single phase service.

If the panel is new, some contractor would trade you in a heartbeat.

I wouldn't install it that's for sure.
You got a speeling problem????
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 04:04 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Orleans,LA
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 75
Default

200 amp service


Quote:
Originally Posted by SULTINI View Post
I wouldn't install it that's for sure.
You got a speeling problem????
did you ever throw snowballs at santa?
NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 05:15 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

200 amp service


Quote:
Originally Posted by NolaTigaBait View Post
did you ever throw snowballs at santa?
Yeah, and how ya' doin' otherwise, Mr. S?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_...of_Functioning
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 06:45 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

200 amp service


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Yeah, and how ya' doin' otherwise, Mr. S?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_...of_Functioning

Knot Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 11:16 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

200 amp service


Quote:
Originally Posted by SULTINI View Post
Knot Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad
Glad to hear it. So you're at 91-100??
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 06:56 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

200 amp service


Ok I got a new panel, new meter socket and a 200 amp breaker at the meter socket. I just want to be sure about a couple of things. The main electric is on a pole going down to the meter, then out to the 200 amp breaker. This was done with 4 awg AL and a neutral, all incased. Is this correct? Then from the breaker to the new 200 amp panel ( 100' run underground ) I used three 4 awg AL and one 2 awg AL. Using the 2 awg AL as the ground and the third 4 awg as the neutral. Is this correct? I have disconnected the ground bar in the panel on the right of the panel so that the ground goes to the right bar and the neutral goes to the left bar. Is this correct and not trying to sound stupid here but why? All the house panels I have connected you run your ground and neutrals to the same bar. Just trying to make sure the job is done right. Thanks
Brian0075 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 07:22 AM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,961
Rewards Points: 2,318
Default

200 amp service


I hope you mean 4/ought wire and not #4 wire.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 07:38 AM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

200 amp service


Yes 4 ought Aliumium
Brian0075 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 03:45 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

200 amp service


Quote:
just happened to have something you could use SAFELY and it would improve your property
How is hacking up your electrical system going to improve your property?


I'm glad you did it right Brian

To clarify, the neutrals and grounds are separated after the first disconnect. Sometimes the first disconnect is at the panel in the house.

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remodel - Moving from 200 amp service to 320 amps stevedar Electrical 20 11-29-2009 09:14 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 11:31 AM
How can I determine service amperage? dawho1 Electrical 13 04-07-2008 11:10 AM
200 amp panel with a 100 amp service? alexz Electrical 10 07-29-2007 11:00 PM
Suspected open/loose service neutral mrtomwj Electrical 5 09-28-2006 09:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts