200 Amp Meter Loop Critique My Work - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2012, 11:07 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Rewards Points: 150
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
That panel needs a hub or sealing washer. Is the lower end of the emt with the ground wire bonded on the lower end?
Ok, easy fix on the #4 ground wire. I'll put in PVC and do away with EMT.

Now the other. AEP won't allow a bonding bushing in their can. I will put it in my panel. However, do I need to put a hub on the bottom of the offset and a ground bushing below the hub inside my panel? If so, it has to be Myers type with the grounding bushing screwed on.

Instead, a sealing washer topped off with a grounding bushing seems to be an easier installation. Does the bonding jumper need to be #4?

I flat out forgot about the sealing washer. Duh but I've never seen our local sparkies use grounding bushings. Maybe the local AHJ likes what he sees in 250.92(B)(2) and calls it a day.

Advertisement

n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 11:18 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Rewards Points: 150
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


[quote=n175h;1061337]Does the bonding jumper need to be #4?

I think I found it. Looks like Table 250.66 says it has to be #4. Am I reading it correctly?
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:46 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Rewards Points: 150
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


Down to the electric supply I went and picked up sealing washers and grounding bushing. I installed the sealing washer/locknut under the hub and the grounding bushing threaded on next. Ran #4 wire to the ground bar.

One concern I have is the rain hub on top of the meter can came with no bushing of any type. Do I need to bush below the hub at the can penetration? You can see there is nothing there in the 1st picture. Everything else I think I covered.

I replaced the emt with non metalic liquid tite flex conduit. PVC would not land in the knockout hole in the meter can and pass behind the main disconnect. No room.
Attached Thumbnails
200 amp meter loop critique my work-meter-loop-revised-001.jpg   200 amp meter loop critique my work-meter-loop-revised-002.jpg   200 amp meter loop critique my work-meter-loop-revised-003.jpg  

Last edited by n175h; 11-27-2012 at 02:20 PM.
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 05:50 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Rewards Points: 150
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


I found a plastic knockout bushing that snapped into the bottom of the rain hub at the electric supply house. That should wrap this project up. I believe I'll call the inspector and hopefully I'll pass and get AEP to drop me some power. It takes about 6 weeks to get power out here in south TX because of the oil boom we are experiencing.
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:01 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Rewards Points: 150
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


I passed

Ordered a service contract and AEP came out and hooked it up in 4 days. Wow! Wasn't expecting that. Now I can start building my shop. I'll continue to post pictures if anyone is interested. Got to start burying pipe pretty soon.
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:29 PM   #21
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,962
Rewards Points: 2,320
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


Great job!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 07:19 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Rewards Points: 150
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


Moving on to the inside of the building now. I've been erecting the building for over a month, but had a chance to land my sub panel. I ran 1/0 THWN wire for 150 amps. Couldn't find a breaker locally, so I stabbed a 125 in for now that I had in the storeroom. I ran #6 ground back to the main and landed a #6 bare ground wire bonded to the metal building frame and clamped to a #4 20' rebar as my CEE. The #6 wire is continuous with no spices for ground bar to CEE. Neutral is isolated from ground.

Anyone see any errors? I have to get this inspected after I finish all the wiring.

I've got to clamp those pipes since it is 3' 2" between supports. Should have moved the box lower.

Also, I ran that #6 wire through a romex clamp to exit the box. That OK??
Attached Thumbnails
200 amp meter loop critique my work-logs-009.jpg   200 amp meter loop critique my work-logs-010.jpg   200 amp meter loop critique my work-logs-011.jpg   200 amp meter loop critique my work-logs-014.jpg  

Last edited by n175h; 02-04-2013 at 09:54 PM.
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:18 PM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


I have used a romex clamp many times when they did not have a small hole for the ground wire to fit though.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 05:58 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Rewards Points: 150
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


I'm almost finished. Still need my light fixtures, but I'm done pulling home runs. Here is my panel. How's it look? Orange for the 240's, red for the lights, black for the 120's. #6 wire pair for welder, and one set for the RV. I ran grounds with each pipe run and put bond jumpers in each j-box.

I ran several multiwire branch circuits which caused me to land two GFI plugs in one box in order to send out the separate circuits downstream to the daisy chain in each direction down the wall. It's okay, but I don't really like it, but code says you gotta have em.

I ganged a couple of 240's with some 120's for convenience and a table saw, etc. I like that setup.

Should be ready for final inspection next week after I hang the T8 fixtures.
Attached Thumbnails
200 amp meter loop critique my work-panel-finished-001.jpg   200 amp meter loop critique my work-panel-finished-002.jpg   200 amp meter loop critique my work-panel-finished-003.jpg  

Last edited by n175h; 02-15-2013 at 06:03 PM.
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 06:55 PM   #25
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


Quote:
Originally Posted by n175h View Post
I'm almost finished. Still need my light fixtures, but I'm done pulling home runs. Here is my panel. How's it look? Orange for the 240's, red for the lights, black for the 120's. #6 wire pair for welder, and one set for the RV. I ran grounds with each pipe run and put bond jumpers in each j-box.

I ran several multiwire branch circuits which caused me to land two GFI plugs in one box in order to send out the separate circuits downstream to the daisy chain in each direction down the wall. It's okay, but I don't really like it, but code says you gotta have em.

I ganged a couple of 240's with some 120's for convenience and a table saw, etc. I like that setup.

Should be ready for final inspection next week after I hang the T8 fixtures.
Looking good.

Advertisement

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can homeowner (or friend) rewire in California? cvandewater Electrical 34 01-14-2012 01:04 PM
Insulated metal grounding bushing in meter socket WillK Electrical 7 05-26-2011 10:10 AM
short circuit. reset the breaker, but no power bp91708 Electrical 10 03-18-2011 11:07 AM
How does electricity meter calculate kwh? deerhunter Off Topic 18 09-06-2010 09:26 AM
Duct work in garage. flashme18 HVAC 1 11-08-2009 07:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts