Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-26-2012, 06:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Share |
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


I installed my 200 amp service main today and am posting here for critique. I have to call for an inspection and want to make sure all is well.

I had an old mast with 3/0 THWN wire, so I used that from the head to the meter can. I bought 5' of 3/0 wire to make the run from the can to the main breaker. My ground wire is #4 and run in conduit out the bottom of the meter can. AEP only requires one ground rod.
Attached Thumbnails
200 amp meter loop critique my work-meter-loop-003.jpg   200 amp meter loop critique my work-meter-loop-001.jpg   200 amp meter loop critique my work-meter-loop-002.jpg   200 amp meter loop critique my work-meter-loop-005.jpg  

n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 06:22 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


One thing that bugs me is I have the bottom of the mast standing off the pole 3/4" and flush against the pole at the top, so it has daylight between it and the pole at the bottom. Any chance of getting gigged on that?

You can't see it very well in the picture, but the POCO transformer is on the pole behind mine in the picture. It's about 10' from my pole. My service mast is about 15' above grade.
Attached Thumbnails
200 amp meter loop critique my work-meter-loop-006.jpg   200 amp meter loop critique my work-meter-loop-007.jpg  


Last edited by n175h; 11-26-2012 at 07:08 PM.
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 06:24 PM   #3
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


I don't see a ground wire from the meter base to the disconnect panel, maybe it just doesn't show in the pic. Besides that looks good to me!
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 06:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


Neutral is taped white at both ends. Ground it taped green at both ends. Bonding jumper is connected.
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 06:26 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,246
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


Is that a metal or PVC offset nipple?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 11-26-2012 at 06:29 PM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 06:36 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,246
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


Quote:
Originally Posted by TTW View Post
I don't see a ground wire from the meter base to the disconnect panel, maybe it just doesn't show in the pic. Besides that looks good to me!
You wouldn't need a separate ground.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 06:59 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,703
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


That panel needs a hub or sealing washer. Is the lower end of the emt with the ground wire bonded on the lower end?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 06:59 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Is that a metal or PVC offset nipple?

Metal Offset.

I needed as much offset available to get the 1/2" EMT to pass behind the panel. I guess I should have used flex, but I had the EMT in my store room, handy, so I grabbed it and used it.

BTW: The wire in the pipe is 3/0 CU. Ground wire is #4

Last edited by n175h; 11-26-2012 at 07:11 PM.
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 07:03 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
That panel needs a hub or sealing washer. Is the lower end of the emt with the ground wire bonded on the lower end?
Darn, missed the sealing washer, but I don't think our local electricians ever use one. I'll drive out to a new subdivision tomorrow and look.

No, the lower end is not bonded. I've never seen that done anywhere in our jurisdiction. The electricians just pass it through the pipe end and clamp the wire to the rod.
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 07:06 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
That panel needs a hub or sealing washer. Is the lower end of the emt with the ground wire bonded on the lower end?
I just remembered. The top of the panel under the offset nipple has a beveled edge upward. Would that suffice for a raintite seal sans the sealing washer? Same configuration on top of the meter can, also.
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 07:13 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


I also hooked up a GFCI circuit
Attached Thumbnails
200 amp meter loop critique my work-meter-loop-004.jpg   200 amp meter loop critique my work-meter-loop-008.jpg  
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 07:13 PM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,703
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


Quote:
Originally Posted by n175h View Post
I just remembered. The top of the panel under the offset nipple has a beveled edge upward. Would that suffice for a raintite seal sans the sealing washer? Same configuration on top of the meter can, also.
Needs a hub.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 07:25 PM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,246
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


Also need a bonding bushing in the meter socket.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
brric (11-26-2012)
Old 11-26-2012, 07:50 PM   #14
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work




Would these work for you, not sure if they are just for metallic conduit or ok for pvc.
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 08:38 PM   #15
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,513
Default

200 amp meter loop critique my work


The metal raceway containing the ground wire needs to be bonded at both ends or change raceway to PVC. Meyers hub on top of the panel. Grounding bushing for offset nipple.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. All other states click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online motor calculator
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online calculators
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.

Last edited by electures; 11-26-2012 at 08:42 PM.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (11-27-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can homeowner (or friend) rewire in California? cvandewater Electrical 34 01-14-2012 12:04 PM
Insulated metal grounding bushing in meter socket WillK Electrical 7 05-26-2011 09:10 AM
short circuit. reset the breaker, but no power bp91708 Electrical 10 03-18-2011 10:07 AM
How does electricity meter calculate kwh? deerhunter Off Topic 18 09-06-2010 08:26 AM
Duct work in garage. flashme18 HVAC 1 11-08-2009 06:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.