Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2012, 05:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

200 amp meter base hook up


black arrows are black wires and white arrow are white wire.. is this set up correct ??

chessy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 08:43 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,895
Rewards Points: 2,046
Default

200 amp meter base hook up


My guess is that your neutral connects to the hexagonal lug at the left of your white arrow, leaving the other point for the POCO.

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 09:22 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

200 amp meter base hook up


I think your hots are correctly labeled, but the white should go to the lug to the left of where your white arrow is.

The POCO will probably use crimp connectors that bolt down where your white arrow is.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 10:19 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

200 amp meter base hook up


thanks guys .. yes arrow a little off.. it went into the lug thanks for the info ...
chessy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 01:56 AM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

200 amp meter base hook up


You may have to supply the lugs for the power company....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 02:02 AM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

200 amp meter base hook up


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
You may have to supply the lugs for the power company....
Yep I know few POCO will ask the customer to provide the lugs but most case the POCO will have them in thier truck unless got a oddball size there.

The other thing this part will get your attetion is the Belleviue washer ( SP ) ya denfinely need a toqure wrench on that one.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 02:05 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

200 amp meter base hook up


opps., Désolé
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 08:51 AM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

200 amp meter base hook up


Here we have to have all our lugs crimped on and connected before inspection.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 08:53 AM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

200 amp meter base hook up


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Here we have to have all our lugs crimped on and connected before inspection.
We are required to use by-pass handles in all residential meters...

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can the meter socket itself be replaced? Johnd85053 Electrical 19 02-14-2012 06:02 AM
Bathroom project: in floor heating, slc and shower base Me xeno Flooring 1 01-20-2012 07:12 AM
do I need a meter main? 1dumbquestion Electrical 11 12-17-2011 08:05 PM
how to nail base cap of baseboard molding conradA Flooring 3 06-23-2010 11:57 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.