Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-29-2009, 11:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

200 amp feed thru panel


What is the difference between a standard 200 amp panel and a 200 amp feed thru panel.

leroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 12:16 AM   #2
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 0
Default

200 amp feed thru panel


It has a second set of lugs so that you can tap the mains to a second panel. If you do this with service conductors, you need to be able to reach all the main breakers without walking, so the other panel has to be right next to it generally.

Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 05:53 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

200 amp feed thru panel


If you're talking about main breaker panels with feed through lugs, it's mostly used as a disconnect to feed a 200 amp main lug panel and only has spaces for 8 branch breakers. It's usually a 3R enclosure but I'm sure it's available in indoor.

I use them on service upgrades where a heat pump is being installed and a service disconnect is required.

Use the feed through to a new main lug panel in the house with exisiting circuits, and feed the new loads from the feed through panel.


Quote:
the other panel has to be right next to it generally.
This isn't true. When you use the feed through lugs, the panel you're feeding is a sub-panel so if you cut the main breaker off it will kill your sub too.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:00 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,841
Rewards Points: 38
Default

200 amp feed thru panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
If you do this with service conductors, you need to be able to reach all the main breakers without walking, so the other panel has to be right next to it generally.
HUH???

Can you explain this a bit better?
I know this is not a requirement, so I am wondering where it is you heard of this.



A feed-thru panel has lugs right off the main buss so the full amperage of the panel can be fed on to another panel. This eliminates the need for a feeder breaker that would be limited to typically 100 or 125A.

Say your main drop or underground came into your detached garage. Then on to the house. You could have a feed-thru panel in the garage that will have 6-8 circuits, and also allow the full 200A to continue on the the house without a sub-feed breaker. The main breaker serves this purpose.
The house, being a detached structure would still require a means of disconnect, so another main breaker panel would likely be used simply for convenience.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.

Last edited by Speedy Petey; 01-30-2009 at 01:41 PM. Reason: typo
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 12:28 PM   #5
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 0
Default

200 amp feed thru panel


I guess we are talking about different things. I'm speaking of small panel with just lugs at the top and bottom. This would be subject to the rule about 6 breakers since it would all be unfused if used with service conductors before a larger panel with a main breaker in it.


Here's a sheet from square D about what they call the various types:
http://ecatalog.squared.com/techlib/...0089268007935e

Last edited by Gigs; 01-30-2009 at 12:33 PM.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 02:37 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.