200 AMP Disconnect Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2015, 05:09 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 44
Default

200 AMP disconnect question


Does anyone know if I connect the neutral and ground bridges together and then go to the ground rods or just go from ground bridge to rods? It is a 200 amp disconncet attached the the meter with SEU wire and SER is going to the panel inside house. Pics attached below.
Attached Thumbnails
200 AMP disconnect question-screenshot-2015-12-18-7.32.07-pm.jpg  
Attached Images
 

Advertisement

akajoe87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 08:29 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,638
Rewards Points: 3,532
Default


All grounding electrode conductors terminate at the disconnect neutral.

Advertisement

brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 08:42 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,117
Rewards Points: 388
Default


There should be a bond screw in the disconnect .

Did you forget to put a backer panel behind the meter and disconnect ? What siding are you going to install?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 02:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 629
Rewards Points: 1,264
Blog Entries: 1
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by akajoe87 View Post
Does anyone know if I connect the neutral and ground bridges together and then go to the ground rods or just go from ground bridge to rods? It is a 200 amp disconncet attached the the meter with SEU wire and SER is going to the panel inside house. Pics attached below.
You would bond your neutral and ground together in the main breaker enclosure and then run four conductors to the main panel. There should be a green bonding screw or a jumper to accomplish this. Keep the neutral and ground separate in the main panel.

I would have used individual conductors between the meter and the main breaker.

The meter and the breaker box are very close together. Will the covers fit properly? Also did you use a chase nipple without locknuts in between. That nipple has to ensure ground continuity. Usually bonding bushings or bonding locknuts are used there.

I would have put bushings on the connectors and nipple.

Are you planning to put siding around the service? I think it would be better if the service was on top of the siding. Someday you may need to replace that service and you will have a hole there.
__________________
John Grabowski

MrElectrician.TV
MrElectricianTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 06:42 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 44
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrElectricianTV View Post
You would bond your neutral and ground together in the main breaker enclosure and then run four conductors to the main panel. There should be a green bonding screw or a jumper to accomplish this. Keep the neutral and ground separate in the main panel.

I would have used individual conductors between the meter and the main breaker.

The meter and the breaker box are very close together. Will the covers fit properly? Also did you use a chase nipple without locknuts in between. That nipple has to ensure ground continuity. Usually bonding bushings or bonding locknuts are used there.

I would have put bushings on the connectors and nipple.

Are you planning to put siding around the service? I think it would be better if the service was on top of the siding. Someday you may need to replace that service and you will have a hole there.
Ok, so bond them either at the main panel or main breaker just not both?
akajoe87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 06:46 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 44
Default


There is 3/4 advantech behind it. It is cut even with box
akajoe87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 07:13 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,117
Rewards Points: 388
Default


The neutral to ground bond occurs in the first means of disconnect .
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 07:21 PM   #8
Property Mgt/Maint
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,077
Rewards Points: 4,120
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by akajoe87 View Post
There is 3/4 advantech behind it. It is cut even with box

Whats your plan for keeping water out of the Advantech edges.
I know that it has some weather resistance, but not lifetime exposure.

I usually wrap the block with alum first or use PVC and no wrap
Yodaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 07:22 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 44
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The neutral to ground bond occurs in the first means of disconnect .
Ok, can I just connect the neutral and ground using 6 copper wire and anchor it to the terminals in the disconnect box?
akajoe87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 07:22 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 44
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yodaman View Post
Whats your plan for keeping water out of the Advantech edges.
I know that it has some weather resistance, but not lifetime exposure.

I usually wrap the block with alum first or use PVC and no wrap
Im going to use flashing tape around it before I j channel it.
akajoe87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 07:39 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,117
Rewards Points: 388
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by akajoe87 View Post
Ok, can I just connect the neutral and ground using 6 copper wire and anchor it to the terminals in the disconnect box?

You use the bond screw or strap that came with the disconnect .
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 07:42 PM   #12
Property Mgt/Maint
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,077
Rewards Points: 4,120
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by akajoe87 View Post
Im going to use flashing tape around it before I j channel it.

it always irritates the crap out of me when someone comes along after I just did something and they start a sentence with "you shoulda" bla,bla,bla.

But you really should have weatherproofed the blocks prior to mounting your boxes. I don't see how taping the edges now is going to do much. IMO

Advertisement

Yodaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
location of service disconnect for generator inlet rob613 Electrical 6 02-15-2013 12:16 PM
Fused disconnect or unfused, motor is fed from breaker... Do It Right Electrical 17 03-19-2011 12:28 AM
Main disconnect neutral wiring Daniel Holzman Electrical 5 10-04-2009 01:36 PM
subpanel question Brik Electrical 2 11-30-2008 05:31 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1