Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-26-2012, 09:33 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Question

200 amp to 400 amp service


Hi,

I have a 200 amp service in my house. I have 100 amps servicing my house and 100 amps feeding a panel out in an attached garage.

OK - I just put up a detached garage (about 30 feet from the main service box on the outside of the house) and want to feed it with 100 Amps minimum.

What are my options ? (I'm not electrically experienced). I was thinking I might be able to have a 400 amp service put in and up to the house and then have the 400 amp box feed the existing 200 amp box and then take the other "new 200 amps" and feed the new detached garage?

Any help/suggestions welcomed !

Thanks,
Chris

triathlonx13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:21 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: crimson tide country
Posts: 143
Default

200 amp to 400 amp service


i would contact a few licensed electrical contractors in your area to quote you on a new service installation. you would be wise to listen and learn from these people. one might give you a good tip. another something else. what you need will be directly related to your load requirements. in essence, what are you asking your new garage to do? welder? air conditioner? possible future expansion? any 220 v motors? expert advice will be very valuable here. also, your electric utility company will send a rep out to talk with you and your needs too.

buddy builder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 12:50 PM   #3
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

200 amp to 400 amp service


Just feed the new subpanel with a 100 amp breaker, and install a 100 amp subpanel.

Not an issue, unless you are planning to set up a welding shop, or shop with high power demand.
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 01:25 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Default

200 amp to 400 amp service


Thanks for posting up and giving me some direction.

The garage will have a car lift, welder, air compressor, Milling machine, 2 window AC units... basic lights, and other smaller electric stuff. I probably should start creating a list of equipment/power usage and start there.
triathlonx13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving service panel away from main service line entry k2000lbs Electrical 3 11-28-2011 08:39 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
rewire and new service entrance wire dghowery Electrical 4 10-13-2010 08:31 AM
"Moving" service entrance WillK Electrical 4 09-29-2010 01:04 PM
How to tell Service amperage?? Buckley Electrical 2 06-06-2009 05:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.