200 Amp - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2012, 10:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

200 amp


can I hook a 200 amp pannel up to a 100 amp service

Advertisement

boord54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 10:29 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,006
Rewards Points: 2,810
Default

200 amp


Are you asking about feeding the 200 from the 100 or are you replacing the 100 with the 200?

If replacing you will need to install a breaker to protect the 100 amp wires.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 12:53 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

200 amp


It can be done however you will denfifly have to buy 100 amp two pole breaker to protect the 100 amp service entrance conductors or cable.

Is this used for replacement or used for subpanel that answer will change a bit.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts