Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2012, 08:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

200 amp to 100 amp to 60 amp


i need a diagram of nec approved wiring from 200 amp main to a100 amp attached panel to a60 amp detached panel?

ekyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:15 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,084
Default

200 amp to 100 amp to 60 amp


The required wiring method would depend on the environment the feeders needed to run through.

All wiring methods would need to be 4 wires unless a metallic conduit was used.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
ekyme (11-13-2012)
Old 11-13-2012, 08:24 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Default

200 amp to 100 amp to 60 amp


200 to 100 is in pvc above ground underneath eve from 100 to 60 is below ground 18 inch inpvc
ekyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:35 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Default

200 amp to 100 amp to 60 amp


does 4wire need ground bar and ground rod at each panel down stream
ekyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:46 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,084
Default

200 amp to 100 amp to 60 amp


Each panel will get a separate ground bar. Only subpanels in a detached structure get a grounding electrode system like rods.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:53 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Default

200 amp to 100 amp to 60 amp


do i bond the ground at the 100 amp attached panel?
ekyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:00 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,084
Default

200 amp to 100 amp to 60 amp


You only bond the neutral to ground in a service panel. Not any panel downstream.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.