Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-27-2012, 01:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

20 vs 30 AMP fuses


The fuse blew. Can I use a 30amp TL in place of the 20 amp W without causing damage? This fuse runs the refrigerator, coffee pot, toaster oven, microwave, etc.

tracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 01:36 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,888
Default

20 vs 30 AMP fuses


Quote:
Originally Posted by tracer View Post
The fuse blew. Can I use a 30amp TL in place of the 20 amp W without causing damage? This fuse runs the refrigerator, coffee pot, toaster oven, microwave, etc.
NO! You have to much on this circuit. You need to run an additional circuit (or 2) and split up the load.

Increasing the fuse size can cause the wire to overheat and cause a fire.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 01:36 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

20 vs 30 AMP fuses


No, the wire size dictates the size of the breaker or fuse.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 01:42 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,211
Default

20 vs 30 AMP fuses


You will burn the house down.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 03:49 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

20 vs 30 AMP fuses


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
No, the wire size dictates the size of the breaker or fuse.
And considering what this circuit runs a 30A circuit would NOT be allowed anyway.
Like rj said, new circuits run is the only cure.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 04:15 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,545
Default

20 vs 30 AMP fuses


A better option would be to bite the bullet and up grade all the wiring and get rid of those old fuses.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 04:30 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

20 vs 30 AMP fuses


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
A better option would be to bite the bullet and up grade all the wiring and get rid of those old fuses.
Getting rid of the fuses would not necessarily mean "upgrading all the wiring".

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat pump wiring and fuses icandoitmyself1 HVAC 13 06-01-2014 04:15 AM
Fuses replaced, Circuit still dead oldcollegegal Electrical 16 08-09-2012 01:11 AM
Are fuses still used in new construction? SilveradoGuy Electrical 6 01-17-2012 05:23 PM
Replacing 240V fuses for dryer Mark77 Electrical 14 01-10-2012 09:06 PM
Intertherm elec furnace slowly burns 60A fuses. Goldenvoice HVAC 9 01-05-2011 10:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.