Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2013, 06:49 PM   #31
JW
 
mm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

20 amp service?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Why, my house is up to code. If you really have this much time on your hands to be code enforcement on a Internet forum, really you need to find a different hobby, or actually work during the day like most of us do, to earn a living and pay the bills.
Wow- that really veered off on a tangent.

Give advice that is correct, and save your douche bag comments for when you actually know what you're talking about.


mm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 07:15 PM   #32
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,155
Rewards Points: 64
Default

20 amp service?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mm11 View Post
Wow- that really veered off on a tangent.

Give advice that is correct, and save your douche bag comments for when you actually know what you're talking about.

You did spend a lot of time on this thread quoting stuff, that most of us already know, and really had no reason to quote what I stated, so that you could attempt to make a point with no target.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 07:18 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 0
Default

20 amp service?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
You have a duplex gfci, which is 2 receptacles!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
A single duplex counts as two
Got it. Makes sense.
herdfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 07:33 PM   #34
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,865
Rewards Points: 0
Default

20 amp service?


Quote:
Originally Posted by herdfan View Post
Got it. Makes sense.
OK... help me understand the logic..... if you have a dedcated 20 A circut serving one iindividual outlet, the requirement for a 20A configured single outlet receptical is just based on identifying, letting someone know, that that is a dedicated 20A.???

I do not see necessarily any safety consideration... I see only information to a potential user. You can still plug anything into that recep?????

But... I'm obviously missing something here.

MM.... Despite your football (EDIT ADD: mistaken) loyaltys, I for one really do very much appreciate any correction, elaboration or clarrification of things on here.... thank you.... fine points I think help us all.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)

Last edited by MTN REMODEL LLC; 05-28-2013 at 07:42 PM.
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 07:43 PM   #35
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 0
Default

20 amp service?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC

OK... help me understand the logic..... if you have a dedcated 20 A circut serving one iindividual outlet, the requirement for a 20A configured single outlet receptical is just based on identifying, letting someone know, that that is a dedicated 20A.???

I do not see necessarily any safety consideration... I see only information to a potential user. You can still plug anything into that recep?????

But... I'm obviously missing something here.

TIA
I believe it is because you can plug any amount of appliances, up to 20 amps, in multiple receptacles. You would not want anything drawing over 15 amps plugged into any one 15 amp receptacle, However. So, a dedicated 20 amp circuit needs a 20 amp single-plex receptacle. (Hope that makes sense)
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 08:01 PM   #36
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,865
Rewards Points: 0
Default

20 amp service?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
I believe it is because you can plug any amount of appliances, up to 20 amps, in multiple receptacles. You would not want anything drawing over 15 amps plugged into any one 15 amp receptacle, However. So, a dedicated 20 amp circuit needs a 20 amp single-plex receptacle. (Hope that makes sense)
Kyle...thanks and sorta / almost makes sense. But I can plug in appliances totalling 2000A in my 15 or 20A circuts... albeit for a very short time.

But if I have some appliance with a 20A plug, and I am permitted to put multiple 20A recepticals on any 20A branch, I can still overload that 20A branch very easily anyway. The fact that I have a dedicated single outlet and am required to put a 20A single recep in, does not seem to be doing anything but letting me know for certain it is a 20A dedicated circut. And if I see a duplex 20A recep, I guess I say I know the circut is 20, but I better check what else is on that circut.... not pragmatically done though.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 08:04 PM   #37
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 0
Default

20 amp service?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC

Kyle...thanks and sorta / almost makes sense. But I can plug in appliances totalling 2000A in my 15 or 20A circuts... albeit for a very short time.

But if I have some appliance with a 20A plug, and I am permitted to put multiple 20A recepticals on any 20A branch, I can still overload that 20A branch very easily anyway. The fact that I have a dedicated single outlet and am required to put a 20A single recep in, does not seem to be doing anything but letting me know for certain it is a 20A dedicated circut. And if I see a duplex 20A recep, I guess I say I know the circut is 20, but I better check what else is on that circut.... not pragmatically done though.
I was just speaking theoretically

This is a little over my head though, just another rule I guess.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kyle_in_rure For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (05-28-2013)
Old 05-28-2013, 08:27 PM   #38
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,093
Rewards Points: 0
Default

20 amp service?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mm11 View Post

Wow- that really veered off on a tangent.

Give advice that is correct, and save your douche bag comments for when you actually know what you're talking about.

Wow!
You've been here less then a month and you have already figured out a sure fire way to gain respect from your peers!
Good job!

Last edited by sublime2; 05-28-2013 at 08:30 PM.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:00 PM   #39
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,865
Rewards Points: 0
Default

20 amp service?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
Wow!
You've been here less then a month and you have already figured out a sure fire way to gain respect from your peers!
Good job!
Sublime.... I sorta understand what you were saying... but I think (guess)most of us have pretty thick skins and probably (at least me) have been called a lot worse... and if I were an inanimate object, I'm not sure it was an unfavorable insult

Regardless of how long someone has been around, and who may have started what, my respect goes to the party who was on point, correct in fact, and someone who calls a spade a spade.

Respectfully, I feel differently.

Best Peter

__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MTN REMODEL LLC For This Useful Post:
jproffer (05-29-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving service panel away from main service line entry k2000lbs Electrical 3 11-28-2011 08:39 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
rewire and new service entrance wire dghowery Electrical 4 10-13-2010 08:31 AM
"Moving" service entrance WillK Electrical 4 09-29-2010 01:04 PM
How to tell Service amperage?? Buckley Electrical 2 06-06-2009 05:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.