Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-19-2008, 06:39 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Share |
Default

20 amp power questions


Plug it in your kitchen if it trips the CB then go to the garage

BillyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 05:24 AM   #17
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

20 amp power questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyD View Post
Now they are picking the fly s--t out of the pepper. Common sense must be dead in America. Make your cord with romex and do your floors. You will be finished by the time you read all of these posts.
It's about following code no matter how easy and quick a shortcut may be...
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 04:41 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 211
Default

20 amp power questions


"It's about following code no matter how easy and quick a shortcut may be..."

Sure, you can mindlessly follow some of these obscure rules to the T, but it will cost you a fortune in time and money in a house like mine. Theoretically I should have more outlets in my rooms per code. This would entail drilling through and fishing through old plaster walls and then fixing the mess later. Guess what? I ain't doing it. Instead I drop line down into what is already there. I also leave the old unconnected wire in the wall because it is stapled in there, and I would have to do major demo to take care of it "per code."

I only want that what i do to be SAFE from potential fire and other damage. That is good enough, and it is my understanding that the work is grandfathered in.

Last edited by Cossack; 06-20-2008 at 07:26 PM.
Cossack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 05:56 AM   #19
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

20 amp power questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cossack View Post
"It's about following code no matter how easy and quick a shortcut may be..."

Sure, you can mindlessly follow some of these obscure rules to the T, but it will cost you a fortune in time and money in a house like mine. Theoretically I should have more outlets in my rooms per code. This would entail drilling through and fishing through old plaster walls and then fixing the mess later. Guess what? I ain't doing it. Instead I drop line down into what is already there. I also leave the old unconnected wire in the wall because it is stapled in there, and I would have to do major demo to take care of it "per code."

I only want that what i do to be SAFE from potential fire and other damage. That is good enough, and it is my understanding that the work is grandfathered in.
I have to agree, because protecting romex from physical damage and stopping movement in a solid core wire is such an obscure code...

__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 06:35 AM   #20
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,539
Default

20 amp power questions


If your house has been properly rewired, you should have 20A circuits in the kitchen, laundry, and each bathroom. Use any of those to supply your sander. Use a 12ga extension cord. If the sander has a 20Aplug, you can put together a short adapter cord for this temporary application. You don't have to go to the garage to find a 20A circuit... that is if your rewire was properly done.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 11:08 AM   #21
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,449
Default

20 amp power questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cossack View Post
I only want that what i do to be SAFE from potential fire and other damage. That is good enough, and it is my understanding that the work is grandfathered in.
Even though I saw no reason not to use the romex as an extension cord as temp power for this one job, new / replacement work is not necessarily grandfathered in and usually must conform to your current local codes. This applies to all areas (electrical, plumbing, insullation...).
What does your inspector say?

__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.

Last edited by 47_47; 06-23-2008 at 11:11 AM. Reason: added
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I get power to a new ceiling fan? sestivers Electrical 12 04-25-2011 02:11 PM
Power inverter AndrewL Electrical 6 03-02-2008 01:43 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.