Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2009, 06:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 99
Share |
Default

20 amp plug


I'm installing a whirlpool tub on a dedicated 20 amp GFI circuit. I went to hardware expecting to buy a regular 2 plug outlet but I found a round single plug 20 amp 125 volt plug. It will take a normal plug but has an extra slot running perpendicular to one of the slots. Should I use this plug?

The one I was going to buy was 2 plug 15 amp

MikeyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 06:22 PM   #2
Custom Cabinet Maker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netcong NJ
Posts: 1,097
Default

20 amp plug


I probably would use a 20 double ( duplex) outlet. My thoughts are just in case you have to get under it to work on it that way you have a way of plugging in a light while keeping power to it for troubleshooting if needed.

skymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 06:24 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Default

20 amp plug


What you describe is correct for a 120V/20A receptacle. It is also available in a duplex. But you MUST use a 20A receptacle. If it does not have the perpendicular(horizontal) slot, it is not a 20A receptacle and should not be used in a 20A circuit.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 07:15 PM   #4
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

20 amp plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by Just Bill View Post
What you describe is correct for a 120V/20A receptacle. It is also available in a duplex. But you MUST use a 20A receptacle. If it does not have the perpendicular(horizontal) slot, it is not a 20A receptacle and should not be used in a 20A circuit.
This is simply not true.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 07:28 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

20 amp plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
This is simply not true.
Oh no! Not this discussion again.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 08:04 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,778
Default

20 amp plug


I think Bill is referring to a single receptacle.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 09:04 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

20 amp plug


We'll see...

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New plug for toaster oven? mike720 Electrical 3 11-23-2008 07:44 PM
GFI Plug Troubleshooting bryanchr Electrical 4 08-22-2008 05:28 PM
Is it safe to plug in this flourescent fixture? doofalot Electrical 2 08-16-2008 01:27 PM
Avanti Electric Oven - But no Plug ? hongtea Electrical 4 03-16-2008 08:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.