Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-21-2009, 10:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Share |
Default

20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets


I was out wiring up the outlets in my new workshop tonight. As I was putting the last outlet in, I realized they are all rated at 15amp, 270 volt.

I assume I need to either replace them all with 20 amp rated outlets, or change the breaker out to 15amp, correct?

I know I've seen 15amp outlets on 20 amp circuits before, but I assume per NEC code, this is not compliant.

Thoughts?

__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 10:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets


15a outlets are rated 20a pass thru - so you are all set

As long as there are (2) outlets on each - duplex & not just a single 15a outlet

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 11:42 PM   #3
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,591
Default

20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets


NEC table 210.21(B)(3) specifically allows 15 amp receptacles on 20 amp circuits provided there are more than one.

One duplex is more than one.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 12:07 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets


Sweet.

Yes, the first outlet is a GFI, then from there it goes to three sets of duplex outlets for a total of 7 outlets including GFI.

These are all over my work bench area.

I finished wiring up 1/2 of the ceiling lights (8 fixtures), total draw is about 7 amps when they are on. Not sure that I will have capacity for the other 7 fixtures though on a 15 amp circuit. So I'll be running a second circuit to my switch box by the door to handle the other half.

I am splitting the barn lights in half since I dont always need to have the back section on unless I am back there.
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 08:02 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets


Quote:
....they are all rated at 15amp, 270 volt....
I've never seen a 270 Volt rated outlet.

Can you elaborate further?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 11:16 AM   #6
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,591
Default

20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets


270 volt......I never even noticed that!

I've never seen a 270 volt outlet either, but I've installed plenty of 277 volt ones.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 02:21 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets


I'll take a photo of the label. I know they are for standard 110/120 VAC...and when I first saw the label I was thinking, WTF. THere is no country that uses the NEMA standard for anything higher than 120 that I know of.

Perhaps it is a watt rating...270 watts..althought that doesnt come close to 15 amps either.
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 04:30 PM   #8
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,591
Default

20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets


Could be a part number. This is a way distant memory, but it seems like an Eagle 270 was a basic 15 amp duplex.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 04:35 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets


That sounds more like it. Eagle (which is now Cooper)

has a part #270W:

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!

Last edited by kbsparky; 08-22-2009 at 04:37 PM.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 08:17 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets


I think you are both right.

Although it does say 270V, which must be the model number.
Attached Thumbnails
20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets-img_6063.jpg   20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets-img_6064.jpg  
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 11:22 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Default

20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
270 volt......I never even noticed that!

I've never seen a 270 volt outlet either, but I've installed plenty of 277 volt ones.

Rob
I haven't seen a plug-in appliance that runs on 277 Volts, either! And the plug for 230v. appliances is shaped differently, too! (Now more than ever)Don't Drink and Drive!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 11:30 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Thumbs up

20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets


Now that I've seen the picture (in post #10) I got the answer. The code bar sticker with the (erroneous) Voltage rating is pasted on by the home improvement store and is not engraved by the manufacturer!Eliminate confusion through Education!!! Now more than ever!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 10:40 AM   #13
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,591
Default

20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets


I've installed two types of 277 volt receptacles.

In commercial kitchens, there's usually a quartz tube of some sort that keeps a plate of food warm after it's prepared. Frequently in a large kitchen these are 277 volt.

In industrial buildings with no cooling, pedestal fans are used to circulate air. Some of these are 277 volt.

These 277 volt receptacles are the same size as the 125 volt ones, the ground pin is the same, but the other two slots are angled, a lot like the older crowfoot dryer receptacles.

The other type is a twist-lock.

Usually, these are installed near the ceiling of a large building that uses high-bay light fixtures. These fixtures are installed on a sort of hook, and have a short cord that plugs in to a nearby receptacle. This makes for quick easy replacement when one fails. It can then be rebuilt in the shop rather than way up high.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 08:44 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Default

20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets


That is not voltage. That is an item number. 270V. The 270 is just a number and the V stands for ivory!
Richieraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 08:56 AM   #15
Bill Kearney
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,874
Default

20 amp Outlet Circuit 12/2 - 15a outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by Richieraz View Post
That is not voltage. That is an item number. 270V. The 270 is just a number and the V stands for ivory!
Gee, you'd think an electrical supplier would be smart enough to avoid doing something that stupid. Probably some marketing dweeb picking things out of thin air instead of having someone with actual electrical training do it.

wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open circuit has power, close the circuit no power??? BeginnerHomeDIY Electrical 7 07-08-2009 02:40 PM
Help Help richie02 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 08:42 AM
15A & 20A outlets on 20A circuit DIYScott Electrical 8 11-29-2007 11:51 AM
wiring a gfci outlet in circuit bobo Electrical 12 08-31-2005 08:38 PM
? on 20A circuit / outlets / #of remhed Electrical 2 05-15-2005 08:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.