Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2013, 11:20 AM   #1
Retired NYPD
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New jersey
Posts: 45
Share |
Default

20 amp outlet


Can I run a 20 amp. Circuit for both the fridge and the dishwasher? Or do I need 2 - 20 amp. Circuits?
FrankLa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 03:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Default

20 amp outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankLa View Post
Can I run a 20 amp. Circuit for both the fridge and the dishwasher? Or do I need 2 - 20 amp. Circuits?
By code you need 2 20 am circuits.
Someone will correct me if I am wrong!
Hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 03:11 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Default

20 amp outlet


If I remember right, as long as the combined amps are less than 16.5 (80% of 20A). And if one is hard wired, (no plug) it can't draw more than 50% of the circuit's amps. It's ok. However, this leaves no capacity for larger units. So, it's a perfect time to run a MultiWire Branch Circuit(MWBC). Run 12/3 with ground on a double pole breaker. Then at the first box split it into two 20A circuits.
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 03:35 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

20 amp outlet


Since it's a fridge I would just run two circuits one for each. If something ever happens and your dishwasher trips a breaker when you are not around it would cause your fridge to lose power on a MWBC.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 03:54 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Default

20 amp outlet


Rrolleston is correct on the technicals. But I would only be concerned if this circuit were AFCI or GFCI. Since this circuit requires neither, the breaker will probably never trip. And people seldom run the dishwasher when they're away on vacation, so most people would notice the fridge was out within a few hours.
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 04:04 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,671
Default

20 amp outlet


OK, here is the scoop.

The refer can be on the SABC (small appliance circuit), OR it can be on a 15 or 20A INDIVIDUAL circuit. Meaning dedicated.
The DW can be on a 15A circuit, or a 20A circuit which can typically also then be shared with a disposal.

You CANNOT share the refer and DW.

See NEC 210.52(B)
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
electures (03-08-2013), Hardway (03-08-2013), Jim Port (03-08-2013), stickboy1375 (03-07-2013)
Old 03-07-2013, 04:08 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,129
Default

20 amp outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennsparky View Post
If I remember right, as long as the combined amps are less than 16.5 (80% of 20A).
Why can't you load a 20A breaker up to 20A.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 04:13 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,671
Default

20 amp outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
Why can't you load a 20A breaker up to 20A.
Because you can.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
jbfan (03-07-2013)
Old 03-07-2013, 04:45 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,072
Default

20 amp outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
Why can't you load a 20A breaker up to 20A.
In real life you can !
But it may or may not work reliably,
chances are you will get nuisance tripping
thats why they say only load breakers to 80%
This is as far as you can push them reliably.

And thats why its been made code.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 04:54 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,469
Default

20 amp outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
In real life you can !
But it may or may not work reliably,
chances are you will get nuisance tripping
thats why they say only load breakers to 80%
This is as far as you can push them reliably.

And thats why its been made code.
Can you post some facts and studies on this.

I've run 20 amp breakers at 22 amps for hours and never had a trip.
If a breaker is rated for 20, it should run 20 forever.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
darren (03-07-2013), Jim Port (03-08-2013), stickboy1375 (03-07-2013)
Old 03-07-2013, 05:02 PM   #11
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,129
Default

20 amp outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
In real life you can !
But it may or may not work reliably,
chances are you will get nuisance tripping
thats why they say only load breakers to 80%
This is as far as you can push them reliably.

And thats why its been made code.

80% rule has nothing to do with reliability. 80% is for continuous loads and this is done to prevent heat build up on the terminals.

If your breaker is rated at 100% you can run that breaker at full amperage forever with no real concerns.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 06:00 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,671
Default

20 amp outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
In real life you can !
But it may or may not work reliably,
chances are you will get nuisance tripping
thats why they say only load breakers to 80%
This is as far as you can push them reliably.

And thats why its been made code.
Sorry DMX, this is completely false. Especially the the code part.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (03-07-2013)
Old 03-07-2013, 06:02 PM   #13
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Default

20 amp outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
...
You CANNOT share the refer and DW.

See NEC 210.52(B)
Ok, I read it. There is no language restricting fridge and DW on the same 20A circuit. An individual 15A circuit is permitted for the fridge. But the code allows unlimited SABCs (... two or more ... 210.11(C)(1)). So any 20A circuit just becomes another SABC. I stand by my original posts.
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 06:06 PM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,671
Default

20 amp outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennsparky View Post
Ok, I read it. There is no language restricting fridge and DW on the same 20A circuit. An individual 15A circuit is permitted for the fridge. But the code allows unlimited SABCs (... two or more ... 210.11(C)(1)). So any 20A circuit just becomes another SABC. I stand by my original posts.
But the DW CANNOT be on a SABC. NOR can it be on with the refer.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (03-08-2013), stickboy1375 (03-07-2013)
Old 03-07-2013, 06:13 PM   #15
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,216
Default

20 amp outlet


I would read the specs for the dishwasher. They usually tell you exactly what the dishwasher can be powered by and the manufacturer specs trump the NEC.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Glennsparky (03-07-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outdoor Outlet seansy59 Electrical 3 03-09-2012 03:50 PM
Swithced Outlet to Ceiling Light/Fan Troubles adamiano86 Electrical 7 01-29-2012 09:36 PM
Switched outlet series Overkll Electrical 4 12-07-2010 07:38 AM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 08:38 PM
Help Help richie02 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 08:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.